Book Problem Year 3

Another year, another evaluation of my unread book selection.  Here’s my stack of unread books in May 2008.

And last year I recreated the stacks (I added 49, but read or gave away 49) and took this photo

book problem 09 2

So, now it’s time to fess up.  I did not do so well at keeping my unread book pile from continuing to take over the house.  I started with 369 books, I read or gave away 41, but brought 79 new titles into the house that I haven’t read yet.  Yes, that’s a total of 407.  Here’s the visual…

You can see that even Max is a little shocked!

But there’s more book news that makes this book problem  more serious.  You know when you leave home and boxes of your stuff get packed away in your parent’s basement?  Well, at the age of 38 I finally convinced my Dad that I could handle the boxes (I mean we have a big basement now too ;)), so over the holidays he brought box after box of stuff. 

Wanna guess how many books were in these boxes?

Here’s a look at the new visual with the books in front.

I refuse to count these and add them to my total.  Whatever I don’t read or get rid of by next year I’ll add.

But you will get to benefit from these extra books I now have.  Over the next week or so I will be offering up free books from these boxes.  Take a look at the book selection, tell me which one you’d like to have in a comment and on June 2nd I’ll pick a winner or two from each day and he or she will receive the book of their choice.  PLEASE enter every day.  They are used books, but there are some good titles in there.

By recreating my stacks of unread books every year it does hold me in check for a good six months.  I don’t plan on buying books – well, except for baby – and I won’t enter giveaways unless the book is on my wish list.  I need to be good because I have a feeling when baby comes my reading may take a hit for a while.

So, do you want to post a picture of your To Be Read pile or piles?  Leave a link in the comments and I’ll add you here.  Come on, let me see that I’m not alone!

38 thoughts on “Book Problem Year 3

  1. Jennifer Rayment says:

    OMG – I laughed my a** off when I saw these pics. I’m thinking you could start a book stores and make a little cash for the wee one, instead of giving them away. Just a little heads up advice from a mom — don’t let the little buggers any where near your books — because turn your head for a sec and your fav Julie Kenner book ends up in the toilet — Trust me (sniff sniff I miss you Carpe Demon)

    • stacybuckeye says:

      And you made me laugh with the thought of a few of these books in the toilet. That would certainly help me weed out a few!

  2. Jo-Jo says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. The funniest thing in this picture is the way your dog is looking at these books! I would love to win Son of a Witch. I read Wicked a couple summers ago and loved it and will actually be going to the musical in August.

    • stacybuckeye says:

      Sorry, Jo-Jo, Son of a Witch is not up for grabs. Starting Friday I’ll be offering ones from the boxes in the front. Son of a Witch is one I have to read this year because y’all picked it for me in December 🙂
      I loved Wicked too, but found the musical different than what I expected.

  3. Margot says:

    I remember your pictures from last year and I just started laughing the minute you blog started scrolling down on my computer. There are probably 12-step programs for people like you (and me) but I don’t want to find them. It’s a lovely addiction. I consider you very wealthy – in books.

  4. CeeCee says:

    First of all, how late am I on finding out you’re expecting a wee one??? Sorrry!! Congrats, Congrats!!!!

    Now onto your books: WOW you’re disciplined! How can you go without acquiring more books??? How can you resist the book store, Amazon, the library sales??? I felt bad until I read Margot’s statement about being wealthy with books. I like that.

    • stacybuckeye says:

      Thanks for the congrats 🙂 I posted about it a few weeks ago, but you must have missed it.
      And saying that I will not acquire more books is much easier than actually doing it 😉

  5. Janet says:

    You’ve got quite a little collection going there. I love it because you keep me in books, so I don’t have to buy any. Be sure to pass along your love of books to the wee one. It’s a great thing.

  6. diane says:

    Just tell everyone, you are planning on opening a bookstore if you are ever unemployed…LOL Don’t feel bad, I had 650 unread last count. I do remember 530 not that long ago…:(

  7. mari says:

    Wow!!! And I thought I had a lot of books to read. 🙂 My stack is miniscule compared to yours. I am thinking my reading will take a hit as well once baby comes. Time for us to get busy.

  8. Staci says:

    I love these photos!! You are not alone…I just did an inventory of the books I’ve picked up from my library sales and I’ve added 111 books to my pile over the past two years!! I’m planning on doing some sort of feature about that obsession of mine!

  9. Alice Teh says:

    I can’t help but took my time ogling the books you have here. So beautiful. So lovely. I wish I could hug them. Flip through them. OK, I’m sounding strange-er and strange-er so I better be going now. *GRIN*

  10. Kathy says:

    I’d love your paperback copy of A Ptrayer for Owen Meaney by John Irving. My son will be a HS freshman next year and that novel is on his summer reading list.

    Thanks!

  11. jennygirl says:

    OMG! As much as I would love to help a sister out, if I receive any more books in the mail, the hubby is going to kill me! I don’t have room either, but my books are here, there, and everywhere. And lets not mention the closet he doesn’t go into 🙂
    Good luck! I’m sure you will be able to rid yourself of some. Have you ever thought of selling a “lot” of books in ebay? It may work for you, and get you new book money back.

  12. Jenners says:

    You do have a book problem … and it does look worse than before!!! Yikers! I’m not allowed to have this many books … they have to fit on just three shelves and I can’t exceed that. You need some type of ereader!

  13. Heather says:

    My book reading definitely fell off the radar for quite a few months when I had my son! It’s good that you are looking ahead. I need to get rid of some of mine too. I look at some in my pile and realize I only bought them because they were used and thus really cheap…then I thought am I going to get to these? Can’t I just read them from the library if and when I want to get to this title???? So I may have to do some cleaning up. My books have taken over my bedroom! Good luck! And I’ll look for some titles I may want to add! Thanks, Stacy.

  14. Natalie says:

    Wow! That is a lot of books! You should be on that show HoardersLOL! Na just kidding. I would love to have that many books . My husband thinks I’m nuts.
    Natalie :0)

  15. Literary Feline says:

    I won’t even tell you how many unread books I have, even though it might make you feel a little better if you knew. You’re much more organized than I am. I need to go through mine and pull out copies of books I am no longer interested in reading. Hubby and I recently went through our “read” shelves and pulled out quite a few we’re willing to part with. It’s harder with the unread books.

    I think the giveaways are a great idea. I considered that but decided I really couldn’t afford the postage so am going donate them to a local charity (my library won’t take them). Hopefully they’ll find good homes that way. But maybe I’ll hold a giveaway or two if the mood strikes . . .

Leave a comment