This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett

This Time Together by Carol Burnett: CD Audiobook CoverFinished unabridged audio 9-1-10, rating 4.5/5, memoir, pub. 2010

Narrated by Carol Burnett

I love Carol Burnett.  I loved her variety show, The Carol Burnett Show.  The woman is funny and sincere and real.  This memoir covers the time she was getting started in show business.  She talks about meeting Jimmy Stewart and Cary Grant, two of my faves, and how starstruck she was.  She had an elevator encounter with John Steinbeck which I loved. 

She talks about her time in New York, living with other girls and working on Broadway.  I loved hearing about how she got her own show started, personal stories about castmates, and the honest confessions, like when she got her chin.  She touches on her three marriages and the death of her daughter, Carrie, which give this memoir depth.  Moving from Los Angeles to New York and back again showcase the fortunate life of this comedienne.

These stories of her life are fun to listen to and I must recommend the audio version since she reads the book herself.  It made me want to buy her old shows from the infomercials I always see on tv.  If you are a fan this is a must read.

I checked this audio book out of the library.

31 thoughts on “This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett

  1. Margot says:

    This sounds so good as I too love Carol Burnett. The fact that she reads the book herself appeals to me. I checked my library’s online catalog and they have it available for download. I just have to figure out how to do that. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. Carol says:

    I love Carol Burnett and it does sound like a perfect audiobook, since she reads it herself. Thanks for the review. I wouldn’t have found this one on my own. I like memoirs but for some reason never actually seek them out.

    • stacybuckeye says:

      There is something much more magical about them. Maybe it’s because we knew so little about their real private life. We know way too much today.

  3. Tiny Librarian says:

    Cool! My mom and I have always loved Carol. I’m not an audio book person but I think I’ll have to make an exception for this one, I’d love to hear her tell her story! Thanks for the heads-up!

  4. Bonnie says:

    I loved her show growing up as well and she is an amazing actress and comedian. I am definitely going to add this to my list to listen to from the library. That Carol reads this herself must be a great addition to the enjoyment of this audiobook. Thanks for sharing this one Stacy!

  5. Susan says:

    I love the Carol Burnett Show and watch old reruns whenever possible. The Gone With The Wind drapery/gown scene is the most hilarious skit EVER!! I’m going to order this immediately from our library!

Leave a comment