Dumb Witness, by Agatha Christie

Cover ImageFinished audio 12-4-09, rating 4/5, mystery, pub. 1937

Belgian detective Hercule Poirot receives a letter from a dead woman and he and his friend Captain Hastings try to find out if this woman died of natural causes or was murdered.  There is no shortage of suspects – nieces, a nephew, a companion, servants, and two doctors.  Hercule must find a way to get answers without alerting anyone to his true purpose and his talent for skillful lying takes him far. 

This was my first Agatha Christie novel (my husband too) and we really enjoyed it.  Neither of us figured out what really happened til the end and our favorite character was Bob the dog.  I usually hate when animals talk or we read their thoughts, but Bob was wonderfully charming and he made me laugh every time.  This could have been due to the talented narrator, Hugh Fraser.

This was a great audio for a road trip because it appealed to both of us.  Since we have more travels ahead this month (I’m leaving in 7 1/2 hours) I will have to stock up on more Agatha Christie.

I checked this out of the library.

15 thoughts on “Dumb Witness, by Agatha Christie

  1. Peter says:

    Hi, Stacy! I love Agatha Christie! I had an Agatha Christie phase when I was 15. I’ll definitely be checking this out, since I love Poirot!

    I look forward to reading or listening to more.

  2. heather says:

    Awesome…I’ve never tried an Agatha Christie novel yet. I have Murder on the Orient Express, but haven’t come around to reading it yet…I’ll have to soon. Good luck on your road trippin!

    Off to the library today to see what’s there 🙂

  3. Staci says:

    I just finished a Christie book!!! Mysterious Affair at Styles where Poirot is introduced for the first time…loved it!! I have a feeling I’m going to be on a Christie binge for a while. This one sounds great so I’m sure to read it!

    I would like to read this one since it’s Poirot for the first time.

  4. Louise says:

    Its been a while since I’ve read an Agatha Christie mystery, but I have several faves among those I’ve read, such as Dead on the Nile and Murder in Mesopotamia.

    I’ll have to look for these. Thanks for the recommendations!

  5. bermudaonion says:

    I’ve never tried Agatha Christie. It’s good to know that it appealed to Jason too – maybe Carl and I can try one of her books on our next road trip. Have a great trip wherever you’re going!

    One December trip down, two to go 🙂

  6. jennygirl says:

    I’ve only read one Christie book and wondered why I never did before. She does keep you guessing and she knows what makes people tick.

    I had a different guess every cd and I was wrong on most counts.

  7. Wrighty says:

    What a great idea! I don’t know if my hubby and I could listen to a book together but this sounds like a good one to try. So glad you liked it. Happy traveling!

    It’s always a challenge for me to find one we’ll both enjoy. Mysteries and thrillers seem to work well.

  8. CeeCee says:

    I don’t think I would have enjoyed hearing the dog talk much since I watched the t.v version. I LOVED it! I love the Poirot series so much, I have the entire collection. Try them as well.

    Wow, you are a fan! I’d like to read the Poirot books first before seeing it onscreen, but someday!

  9. fleurfisher says:

    I love Agatha Christie and I’m definitely a terrier girl, so this is a particular favourite. I’m glad you both enjoyed it.

    Bob was so great 🙂

  10. Virginie says:

    Hi Stacy,
    I love agatha Christie too. I read so many of them back when I was a teenager.I loved the fact Hercule Poirot was a belgian detective!

    I thought of the only Beligian I know as we were listening 🙂 Miss you.

  11. Literary Feline says:

    Oh how I love Hercule Poirot! Agatha Christie was one of my favorite mystery writers when I was a teenager. I came into several of her books about a year ago thanks to a friend of my mother’s who was giving them a way. I really need to dig one out and read it.

    I know I have another one hiding around here somewhere. So many books to read!

Leave a comment