The Russian Hill Murders, by Shirley Tallman

The Russian Hill Murders by Shirley Tallman: Book CoverFinished 11-9-09, rating 4.5/5, mystery, pub. 2005

Book 2 in the Sarah Woolson series

I had long since grown weary of these tantrums.  “So, you see, Mr. Shepard, you need not trouble yourself,” I continued, doing my best to ignore this outbreak.  “Mrs. Mankin will be my responsibility.”

“She will be no such thing!  Under no circumstances are you to take that woman’s case.  Do you understand me?”

I was dismayed to feel my own temper rising; above all, I was determined to maintain my composure.  “As you are fond of pointing out, Mr. Shepard, I am a mere woman.  Nevertheless, you have made yourself perfectly clear.”  I didn’t think it expedient to add that, despite its clarity, I had no intention of obeying his edict.

Chapter 2

Sarah Woolson is one of three women attorneys in California in the 1880’s and the only way she was able to get a job in a San Fransisco law firm was through boldness and a little luck.  She is stuck in a closet-sized office doing work for the men in the office when a woman walks in asking for her assistance.  As Sarah goes against her boss, with the help of fellow attorney Robert, she also becomes the focus of a sexy man who she later fears could be a murderer.  There are two mysteries to solve, one involving the horrible sweatshops of the day, and a little romance for Sarah, who wants no part of it.   And Sarah finally gets her day in court defending a Chinese man accused of murder.

I read the first book last month and loved it so much that I had to read the next as soon as my library could get it for me.  I liked this one even more than the first.  Sarah is a tough cookie, maybe a little too tough to identify with in the first book, but in this one we get to see a bit of her vulnerability.  I loved seeing her family again and the mystery was great.  I did figure it out before the end, but I really didn’t care. 

I’ve already put the third one on hold at the library.  This was a library copy.

My review of Book 1.

8 thoughts on “The Russian Hill Murders, by Shirley Tallman

  1. Literary Feline says:

    Sarah does sound like a great heroine. I am not too familiar with this series, but it sounds like something I would really like. I’m glad to hear it continues to be a good series! Thank you for your great review, Stacy!

Leave a comment