The Funny Thing Is…, by Ellen Degeneres

The Funny Thing Is... by Ellen DeGeneres: Book CoverFinished 10-24-09, rating 3.5/5, Humor, pub. 2003

There is also the fact that the food is free and I always think free food tastes the best.  Like when you go to those hotel manager’s receptions.  Even though the food is taquitos and Swedish meatballs, they’re free and actually pretty good.  The thing with prison food that might worry me is that someone might try to poison a prisoner and I might accidentally get the plate that was meant for the intended victim.  That would be bad.  But let’s just say I lived through that.  Well then, I could probably live through just about anything!  Think what a strong constitution I would have.  And probably a new zest for life.  What’s so bad about prison?  That’s what I wanna know.

That’s why prison wouldn’t be so bad chapter

If you enjoy Ellen’s talk show, you will enjoy this book.  It features her charming style of conversation, hilarious insights and crazy dinner party stories, which I believe are pure fiction or Gloria Estefan has some explaining to do.  I included the excerpt from the prison chapter because it was my favorite and made me laugh out loud, but there were other chapters that made me laugh too.

Most of her observations made me  smile more than laugh.  I didn’t love every chapter, but I finished the book happy and feeling like I’d just spent some time with Ellen, so the book was a success.

I read this during the 24 hour read-a-thon and it was perfect for it.  It lightened my mood after so many hours spent reading.

This book was from my own personal library.

15 thoughts on “The Funny Thing Is…, by Ellen Degeneres

  1. Bumbles says:

    She seems like a sweet person from what I have seen. She seems to have a way of putting people at ease through her humor. I would agree that if the book makes you feel like you were hanging out with her chatting away it would be a success.

    Self-deprecating humor is her specialty.

  2. Violet says:

    I’ve seen her show a a few times but honeslty i wasn’t too impressed, i found it another copy of Oprah Winfrey’s show. But Ellen seems genuine though, glad you enjoyed the book.

    It’s funny that you think she’s an Oprah knock off because I don’t see any similarities in their shows except that they are both talk shows. Since Ellen is a comedian I can’t imagine that she would even try and tackle the issues that Oprah does. There is only one Oprah 🙂

  3. Nikola says:

    I really admire this woman, but what you said (…”most of her observations made me smile more than laugh”) is exactly how I felt about the book. I also listened to it, which is good, since she is extremely funny, but i didn’t finish it, which says something. 🙂

    It’s nice to hear that we agreed – sometimes I don’t know when I write my reviews if I am alone in my opinions 🙂

  4. Virginie says:

    Hi Stacy,
    I am happy to see your blog is getting a lots of comments! That book looks like something I could enjoy . I used to watch Ellen and love her show.

    When are you moving back?! 😦

  5. Dawn says:

    I like Ellen’s humor, she’s genuine, not over emotional, and doesn’t intimidate her guests to make herself look good.

    Sometimes the personality doesn’t translate well to book form, but it sounds like this was a good fit for your readathon pile.

Leave a comment