Murder on Nob Hill, by Shirley Tallman

Cover ImageFinished 1024-09, rating 4/5, mystery, pub. 2004

Book 1 in the Sarah Woolson series

Despite claims to the contrary – some, I fear, voiced by members of my own family – I pride myself on being an honest woman.  As a matter of principle, I hold dissimulation of any kind in contempt.  That said, I probably should add that I also subscribe to the old adage “God helps those who help themselves,” even if this sometimes entails being economical with the truth.

First paragraph of the book

Sarah Woolson is a strong young woman living in a time when strong women were frowned upon.  It’s 1880 and she has managed to get an interview with a leading law firm, but she is promptly shown the door because of her sex.  Not willing to step aside she steals a client and the firm takes her in to save face.  Now she must travel around San Francisco trying to prove her client innocent of murdering her rich husband and one of his powerful friends. 

Sarah is take no prisoners kind of gal and this really irks the lawyer who is assigned to following/helping her with the case.  And her brothers prove helpful as does her judge father.  She is not afraid of getting her hands dirty, but her mind is her best asset.  There is a lot to like about Sarah. 

The mystery was good.  I didn’t figure it out until right before Sarah did and it was a satisfying ending.  The family was a warm and fun and accepting of Sarah, well except for one brother running for California Senator, and I look forward to learning more about them as Sarah continues her adventures in the next book.

This did remind me of the Deadly series by Brenda Joyce if you are a fan.  Not any romance in this one, but I do see potential.

This was a library copy.

8 thoughts on “Murder on Nob Hill, by Shirley Tallman

  1. Margot @ Joyfully Retired says:

    A lady lawyer in the 1880’s plus a good mystery. Sounds good. Glad to see you found a new series.

    Luckily, there are only a few more books right now, so I do have a chance to catch up. I really need to finish the ones I’m in the middle of!

  2. Carol says:

    Sounds interesting, especially being set in America in the 1880’s. I actually like the cover.

    The cover does suit the story, so maybe this is the book for you!

  3. Beth F says:

    I read the first two in this series and really enjoyed them!

    From what I saw on the author’s website, this is the first of the series and I’m already looking forward to the next one.

  4. Heather says:

    I do like a little romance mixed in with my mysteries! But if the character is strong and there’s potential for some romance later on, I’ll take it! Looks like a great mystery series!

    I liked it enough to request the next onein the series at the library. It’s waiting for me as I type 🙂

Leave a comment