Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

What Book Is That? Quiz w/ a Special Armchair BEA Giveaway – CLOSED

Welcome to another Tuesday quiz.  You have until noon Saturday to submit your answers as a comment.  Comment will be hidden until I post the answers.  For more details and the leaderboard, go here.

This week will still be a part of the current round of quizzes, so you will be adding $ for the round winner and be eligible for a prize BUT today, for Armchair BEA, one lucky recipient will win a $15 Barnes & Noble giftcard. On Saturday, Gage will randomly choose one quiz participant to win.  To be eligible, you only need to guess, you don’t have to get any right ;)  The guessing is the fun part!

For all of you bookish people stopping by today, see if you can identify these books.  Just tell me the title (and author for extra points) in a comment.  And for one extra entry in today’s giveaway tell me what they all have in common.  Good luck!

You can click on the photo to enlarge.

ANSWERS-1.The Chosen by Chaim Potok   2.How to Buy a Love of Reading by Tanya Egan Gibson   3.Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble   4.Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez   5.The Writing Circle by Corinne Demas   6.Murder is Binding by Lorna Barrett   7.The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett   8.The Reader by Bernhard Schlink   9.This Book is Overdue by MArilyn Johnson  10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield   11.Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding   12.Villette by Charolotte Bronte

What do they all have in common?  They all have books on the cover!

June 5, 2012 - Posted by | FREE, Quizzes | ,

74 Comments »

  1. 10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

    I’m not good at book covers! lol

    Comment by Carol M | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 10 points! I’m a visual person, but I have trouble with these too :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. 10 – The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11 – Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding :) Tough one!

    Comment by Brunette Librarian | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. I know #10 is The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I should know others, but I’m blanking right now.

    Comment by Word Lily | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I never know how these are going to go for people! 10 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  4. So fun! I’m going to have to sit down and see if I can come up with them all later. I recognize several and am drawing a blank.

    Comment by Amanda | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  5. I think I only know #4: Wench by Perkins-Valdez. Oh wait! #7: An Uncommon Reader by Bennett. I just have one thing to say to Gage: Who luvs ya, baby?! (LOLOL)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I’m sorry Gage let you down :( I did give him your message, but you know, he’s just too honest to play favorites, haha. 20 points!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  6. #10 is THE THIRTEENTH TALE, I think…

    Comment by Meaghan Walsh Gerard (@cineastesview) | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  7. Oh how fun! Okay here are my guesses…
    1. The Chosen
    4. Wench
    7. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
    8. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    12. Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

    How exciting! Oh and I think what they all have in common is books on the covers. Thanks for the giveaway!! Happy ABEA :-)

    Comment by Sarah Says Read | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 56+10 bonus points for an impressive 56 points!! So glad you played.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  8. Ooh, I love trying to guess books! I only know a few though:
    1. The Chosen by ??
    7. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
    8. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
    And what they have in common is a book on the cover! Awesome idea! :)

    Comment by Jae | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 38 points + 10 bonus points for 48 awesome points!! Hope you’ll come back and play again.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  9. Hi Stacy, I know one answer immediately and possibly 2 others but I never have the patience to guess, lol.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • One answer would have taken less time to type ;)
      Only 28 guessers so far! Your chances of winning are pretty good :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  10. 1. The Graduate
    4. Wench
    7. The Uncommon Reader (adored this book)
    8. The Reader
    10. 13th Tale
    11. Bridget Jone’s Diary
    12. Jane Eyre??

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 40 points! I can’t wait to get to The Uncommon Reader. It looks short enough for me to add to my pile.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  11. 1. The Chosen by Chaim Potok.
    2.
    3.
    4. Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez.
    5. The Writing Circle by Corinne Demas
    6. A cozy themed cookbook mystery
    7.The Uncommon reader by Alan Bennett.
    8. The Reader by Bernard Schlink
    9. This Book is Overdue by marilyn Johnson
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridget Jones Guide to Life by Helen Fielding.
    12. classic novel – famous
    All of these books depict reading, holding books and the reading interest.

    Comment by Diane | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • You did great! 80 + 2 (for your fun non-titled guess :)) + 10 bonus points for a whopping 92 points!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  12. 1. The chosen by Chaim Potok
    8. The REader by Bernhard Schlink
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
    they’re all about reading :-)

    Comment by Marie | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 30 + 10 bonus points for a total 40 points. Thanks for playing :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  13. 2. How to Buy a Love of Reading by Tanya Egan Gibson
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

    Comment by Liviania | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  14. If we give our answers in the comments, aren’t we basically telling everyone else what the answers are? Haha. I know #11 for sure, but don’t want to say here! I guess I have to, though, to be eligible. Bridgette Jone’s Diary by Helen Fielding. :) Thanks for the opportunity to win!

    - Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl

    Comment by ThatArtsyReaderGirl (@SweetestJana) | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 10 points. Sorry you didn’t win. I do come around often during the first day to hide answers. Someday I’ll have a better system! Hope you’ll play again.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  15. 1. The Chosen
    4. Wench
    10. The 13th Tale
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary
    12. Emma ?

    They’re all holding books or people writing books/their memoirs?

    Comment by hmsgofita | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 32 + 10 bonus points for 42 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  16. Sadly the only one I recognize is The Thirteenth Tale! I’m guessing the common thread is there are books/open books on the covers.

    Comment by Debbie's World of Books | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Good enough for 18 points!! Hope you come back on Tuesday :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  17. 10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

    Comment by Stephanie Ward | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I’m an Armchair BEA participant, if that matters!? :)

      Comment by Stephanie Ward | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Nice to meet you :) 20 points! I hope you’ll come back on Tuesday.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  18. 1. Is this one The Graduate by Charles Webb?
    4. Wench (can’t remember the author)
    8. The Reader by Bernard Schlink (great book!)
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

    That’s all I could guess. Fun! Thanks for the A.BEA giveaway!

    Comment by thetruebookaddict | June 5, 2012 | Reply

  19. 1. The Giver 10. The Thirteenth Tale I think all the books have a them of giving the gift of reading to others in it.

    Interesting concept with the quizzes!

    Comment by readinginthemountains | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • So glad you joined in this week! 16 + 10 bonus points = 26 total :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  20. 1.
    2. How to buy a love of reading (or something like that)
    3.
    4. Wench, Perkins
    5.
    6.
    7. The Uncommon Reader, Alan Bennett
    8. The rEader, Bernhard Schlink
    9. This Book is Overdue, Marilyn Johnson
    10. The 13th Tale, Diana Setterfield
    11.Looks like a Helen Fielding book, but not Bridget Jones Diary?
    12.

    And they all have a book (or books) on the cover or in the title

    Comment by softdrink | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 65 + 10 bonus for 75 points!! And yes, it is Bridget Jones’s Diary :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  21. I’ll only guess the ones that haven’t been guessed yet.

    #1 is The Chosen by Chaim Potok
    #11 is Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding

    I also knew The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett, The Reader by Bernhard Schlink, and The 13th Tale by Diane Setterfield. I’ll also guess that the commonality is having books on the cover, but in all honesty, I looked at softdrink’s paper for that one! Can’t wait to see what the other books are. Thanks for the great quiz!

    Comment by The Word Jar | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 50 points! I’m glad you played along. Thanks for admitting that you looked at Jill’s answers :) I hope you’ll play again.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  22. Ok, this was so hard, but fun, and I spent an hour guessing. My answers:

    1. ?
    2. ?
    3. ?
    4. Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
    5. The Writing Circle by Corrinne Demas
    6. ?
    7. The Uncommon Reader: A Novella by Alan Bennett
    8. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
    9. This Book Is Overdue! by Marilyn Johnson
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
    12. ?

    I know I have read #1 and #12, but can not think of the titles to save my life.

    I read, reviewed, and own #4 and #11, and have seen the movie version of #8.

    For the extra entry, I think all the books deal with adversity, since they are by different publishers, both men and women, people of different colors, Americans and Brits, and so on.

    Comment by The Girl from the Ghetto | June 5, 2012 | Reply

    • 70 points for you! I’m glad that you had fun guessing. Hope you’ll try Tuesday’s quiz.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  23. Again, drawing too many maddening blanks. Oh, well.

    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

    They all refer to books?

    Comment by Stephanie D. | June 6, 2012 | Reply

  24. Good grief I can’t believe how many of these I don’t know! Ack!! But what a great idea! :)
    8. The Poisonwood Bible
    10. The Thirteenth Tale
    11. Bridget Jones Diary
    * They are all about books.

    Comment by Wrighty | June 6, 2012 | Reply

  25. What they have in common – they are all about someone reading a book or books? :)
    I think 6. is Murder is Binding by Lorna Barrett
    7. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfeld
    11. Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

    That’s all I can come up with at this point.

    Comment by Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks) | June 6, 2012 | Reply

    • 40 +10 bonus for 50 points. And enough to win you a $15 giftcard :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  26. Hmmm…well I know a few. Let’s see:
    10.) The Thirteenth Tale
    11.) Bridget Jone’s Diary

    Are they all British in some way? Just a guess. Fun idea! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Courtney
    Stiletto Storytime

    Comment by stilettostorytime | June 6, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks for playing, come again! 16 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  27. That’s a fun game. Can I steal the idea?

    Girl Who Reads

    Comment by Donna (@Girl_Who_Reads) | June 7, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for the compliment! I
      cannot stop anyone from stealing my ideas, of course, but I do spend a lot of time to create the quizzes so I’d rather you just joined in, LOL. BUT, if you must, I hope that you’ll use my quizzes as inspiration only and let me know if you make one, since I’d like to play for once :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 7, 2012 | Reply

  28. Here’s my answers:

    1. The Chosen
    4. Wench
    5. The Writing Circle
    7. The Uncommon Reader
    8. The Reader
    9. This Book is Overdue
    10. The Thirteenth Tale
    11. Bridget Jones’ Diary

    Comment by Vasilly | June 7, 2012 | Reply

  29. Do you have to guess them all? Because I have no idea about all of them but #1, which I think might be the giver, by Lois Lowry

    Comment by Caroline | June 7, 2012 | Reply

    • You only have to guess one to be eligible, but #1 is The Chosen by Chaim Potok. Your name was still in the drawing. Hope you’ll try again next week.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  30. [...] And just for all of you Armchairers who may have missed my quiz on Tuesday, I’m giving away a $15 B&N giftcard to one random participant.  I’m leaving it open until tomorrow at noon.  I hope you’ll give it a shot.  Quiz here. [...]

    Pingback by Last day of Armchair BEA – Ask the Experts | Stacy's Books | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  31. Oh, I know just a couple:
    4. Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
    8. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink
    10. The Thirteenth Tale
    I know I should know a couple more…but I don’t!

    Comment by Jo-Jo | June 8, 2012 | Reply

    • 28 points :) Come back next week and try again.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  32. 1 is THE CHOSEN by Chaim Potok, 5 is THE WRITING CIRCLE by Corrine Demas, 10 is THE THIRTEENTH TALE by Diane Setterfield, one of my favorite books EVER,a nd 11 is BRIDGET JONES’ DIARY by Helen Fielding, which I also loved! I’m not sure what the others are, though! I like this contest, how fun!

    Comment by Bonnie @ A Backwards Story | June 8, 2012 | Reply

    • Welcome! 40 points :) Hope you’ll play again.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  33. Oh, and for what they all have in common? There’s a BOOK on the cover in some way! :)

    Comment by Bonnie @ A Backwards Story | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  34. I don’t know any of the titles, but, they all have a book on the cover. :D

    Comment by Megan Blackwell | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  35. Hi Stacy, this is a fun quiz! I know only three for sure: BRIDGET JONES’S DIARY, THE THIRTEENTH TALE, and THE WRITING CIRCLE. No clue on the others. Looking forward to the answers!

    Comment by Pop Culture Nerd | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  36. Oh, wait, I want the extra points! (I’m a nerd when it comes to quizzes.) BJD is by Helen Fielding, TWC is by Corinne Demas, and TTT is by Diane Setterfield. I believe the connection is that all of them have books (or a diary) on the cover.

    Comment by Pop Culture Nerd | June 8, 2012 | Reply

    • 30 plus 10 bonus for 40 nerdy points ;) Thanks for playing – hope you come back.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  37. 1. The Chosen by Chaim Potok
    2. How To Buy A Love of Reading by Tanya Egan Gibson
    3.? Fall Street Journal
    4. Wench by Dolen Perkins Valdez
    5. The Writing Circle
    6.? Cooked by the Book
    7. The Uncommon Reader
    8. The Reader by Bernard Schlink
    9. These Books Are Over Due
    10. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
    11. Bridge Jones Diary by Helen Fielding
    12 ? Northhanger Abbey by Jane Austen

    All are book related, have books on the cover

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)N | June 8, 2012 | Reply

    • 86 plus 10 for another amazing week. 96 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  38. [...] everyone comes back and plays every week since each week is a different kind of quiz.  I’ve posted the answers and will be scoring you all sometime this weekend.  After that you’ll show up on the [...]

    Pingback by We have a winner! | Stacy's Books | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  39. [...] fun and Good Luck!  Last week’s What Book is That? Quiz here .  Leaderboard and rules [...]

    Pingback by Which is Older? Quiz | Stacy's Books | June 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

