Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The problem with lists

I love lists.  When I started this blog over 4 years ago, I thought it would be fun to come up with a Top 100 list so I did.

My Top 100 movie list is more accurate than my book list because I rewatch favorite movies all the time.  The initial list took some time, but I feel pretty good about it.  Every month or so I try to review a favorite movie and before I do I watch it again and adjust how high on the list it should be.  In the 3 or so years I’ve been doing this, two movies after another viewing, didn’t make the cut.  This week I asked Jason if he wanted to watch #21 with me and he said yes, so over two nights we watched it.  And spent most of the time making fun of it.  I couldn’t believe it.  It just did not age well.  Alien was filmed in 1979 and it shows.  My memories did not match the movie at all.  I was so disappointed and will have to take it off my list.

So, has this happened to you?  Do you remember loving a book or a movie or a song and then when you read/watch. hear it again it’s terrible?

April 20, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

27 Comments »

  1. Not so much with moives. More so with the list of girls I had a crush on in high school. When I come across one of them now, I think, “Wow, she’s like 45! Why would a 16 year-old want to have a crush on a 45-year-old?”

    Comment by Scott Nagele | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Hey, nothing wrong with those of us in our 40′s. 16 year old boys could probably learn a lot :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  2. Yes! Happens to me all the time. But it doesn’t surprise me. Who I am at the moment of exposure has so much to do with it!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Totally agree with you. I think this is even more true of books, at least for me.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. Your top 100 book list is what first attracted me to your blog! Some movies don’t age well – we watched a Star Wars movie recently and we didn’t think it had aged well.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I think with the old sci-fi it’s just so hard after watching the current movies. I couldn’t believe how dated it was. And I remembered the storyline being more compelling. At least Stars Wars had that!
      Always good to know what people look at and enjoy on my blog :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think it’s an ambitious enough project to even go for a personal top 100 list. I’d probably stop at a top 10 or 20 for that kind of list.

    I re-read the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books last summer, and while I still really enjoyed the first book, some of the later ones didn’t hold up as well as I remembered them.

    Comment by Adam | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • As with Alien and Star Wars I wonder if sci-fi, more than some of the other genres, is less timeless because of the great leaps in science. Something to consider, I guess.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  5. I can’t think of any but many I loved as a child, I wonder if I will love as much with my own child. eg, ET, Pippi Longstocking, Annie, Gigi etc. An all time movie for me is Silence of the Lambs, as amazing now as it was then.

    Would love to see your movie list.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I wonder the same thing about movies I’ll watch with Gage! I love Silence of the Lams. It’s in my top 25 :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  6. duh, up the top Marce, lol I see your lists hon

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  7. I have alot of movies that I really like ! =)
    I cant think of one ( at the moment ) that I didnt like when I re-watched it..but Im sure there is one.

    Comment by my recent favorite books | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I think it’s because of the discipline of the list and rewatching that has me taking another look at movies I might not otherwise.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • It doesn’t happen very often. I think my memory was faulty :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  8. I don’t think I’ve ever told you this but I’ve checked your list from time to time the last few years. It’s a very good resource when I’m looking for a movie to watch. I like that Philadelphia Story is still at the top.

    Comment by Margot | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I hope I’ve not steered you wrong, Margot!!!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  9. Hi Stacy–I thought Psycho was kind of corn-ball when I went back and saw it again–hard to believe that it once seemed so scary. I noticed that you had To Kill a Mockingbird as your second favorite book, but it’s not on your favorite movie list–it’s actually my favorite book AND movie, which is funny because when someone really loves a book, they are usually disappointed in the movie.

    Comment by Becky Griffiths | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • I will have to watch TKAM again. I loved Gregory Peck, I remeber that! I’m looking forward to watching Psycho again – it’s been quite a few years.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  10. Funny, I was just thinking the same about some of the books I read years ago. I wondered if I’d rate them higher or lower now than I did then (I was comparing books with another Goodreads reader’s list of similar books read). With movies, in some cases (sci-fi to be sure) it can be painful because the technical advancements can render a movie almost silly after a decade or two. With books, the reader changes in maturity, tastes, etc. Good question.

    Comment by Mary | April 21, 2012 | Reply

    • For me, books more than movies depend more on what’s going on in my life when I read them. They become fixed in my memory when I read them.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  11. I can’t think of a movie at the moment….maybe some of the older Star Treks, like Wrath of Khan. Great movie but some of the effects…not so good.

    Comment by jennygirl | April 21, 2012 | Reply

    • I loved those old Star Treks back in the day!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  12. Every once in a while that will happen to me but I do LOVE to make lists!! :D

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | April 21, 2012 | Reply

    • It’s the process of making a list that helps you evaluate your priorities and feelings.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  13. That is why I don’t revisit beloved childhood books!

    Comment by Jenners | April 22, 2012 | Reply

    • That’s a tough call. I haven’t done it in years, but I want to!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  14. West Side Story. Loved it when I was a kid. Watched it again while in college with a large group of gals and guys. We all just sat there trying not to laugh. How can you take a gang banger seriously when he’s doing ballet leaps and snapping all the time? Songs were still good – but my initial love-fest with the film crashed and burned. Bummer. Some things we just shouldn’t re-visit and let them stay cool in our memories.

    Comment by thebumbles | April 24, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

