Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Ethan Coen Poetry Quiz – guessing closed

In honor of National Poetry Month this first quiz of round 2 features poetry from Ethan Coen’s new book The Day the World Ends (read yesterday’s post for details about the book)I’m also giving away the copy they sent me so I could make this quiz.  All you have to do is guess at least answer on the quiz.  You don’t have to get any right to be entered :)

You have until noon Sunday to submit your answers as a comment.  Comment will be hidden until I post the answers.  No Googling!

This round starts today and will last til August.  The person with the most points will win a B&N gift card (total $ based on # of total participants, so please play) and a randomly selected participant will win a fun prize from me.

Have fun and Good Luck!

Unscramble the words in these poems

1. Uh-huh, I (LOVED) you once, it’s true,

And acted like the man that I

Believed you’d be attracted by-

And I myself (BELIEVED) the lie.

2. His (BRIEFCASE) was a lightish brown:

Its leather (TONGUE) would buckle down

3. A (HORSE) and (WAGON) bore you here:

We duly filed behind.

The day was dull, the winter drear,

Yet no one seemed to mind.

4. Eyes open to find-

(DARK).

Yes, (DARK).

And everything is still.

5. You rise

To dump a paw on either (SHOULDER),

And my (BODY) steadies as you let loll

Your great rough tongue.

6. They hurl their lightning bolts at me.

I duck- and dodge- and feint- and flee.

The great contend; the mighty (STRIVE);

The slippery, like me, (SURVIVE).

7. Who is this (NEWBORN),

Time will tell;

The old man (DYING)

We know well.

Leave a comment on yesterday’s post for another chance to win.

April 10, 2012 Posted by | Quizzes | 20 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers