Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Have you seen…Giveaway

The Day the World Ends: PoemsEthan Coen’s new book of poems, The Day the World Ends?  It was released last week and I have a copy to give away.  I was offered the book for review, but honestly, I just don’t think I’d do it justice.  I am not a poetry lover.

Synopsis From one of the most inventive and celebrated filmmakers of the twentieth century, and co-creator of such classics as Fargo, No Country for Old Men, and True Grit, a collection of poems that offers humor and insight into an artist who has always pushed the boundaries of his craft. Ethan Coen’s screenplays have surprised and delighted international audiences with their hilarious vision and bizarrely profound understanding of human nature. This eccentric genius is revealed again in The Day the World Ends, a remarkable range of poems that are as funny, ribald, provocative, raw, and often touching as the brilliant films that have made the Coen brothers cult legends.

But I did offer to use it in  quiz and give a copy to one lucky reader.  Why would I accept a book of poetry if I’m not a fan?  Well, he is a Coen brother who, along with his brother Joel, has written some of the best scripts.  You can thank Ethan and Joel for Raising Arizona, Fargo, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, No Country for Old Men, Burn After Reading, and 18 others.

Want to win a copy?  Leave a comment with an email address and then come back tomorrow to see how I used the poems for a quiz and enter again.  I’ll draw a winner on Sunday, April 15th.

April 9, 2012 - Posted by | FREE |

7 Comments »

  1. Hmmm…I don’t usually go for books of poems, but like you I might make an exception for tis one:) Hope I win…

    Comment by pinkim95 | April 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. I’d like to try it since it’s one of the Coen Bros. Please throw my name in the hat! kathy(at)bermudaonion.net

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 9, 2012 | Reply

  3. I’m not big on poetry either…love the new blog look!

    Comment by stacijoreads | April 9, 2012 | Reply

  4. [...] first quiz of round 2 features poetry from Ethan Coen’s new book The Day the World Ends (read yesterday’s post for details about the book).  I’m also giving away the copy they sent me so I could make this [...]

    Pingback by Ethan Coen Poetry Quiz & Giveaway | Stacy's Books | April 10, 2012 | Reply

  5. This would be a treasure. Many thanks.

    Comment by Ellie | April 10, 2012 | Reply

  6. I love the Coen brothers! Sure, why not? :)

    hannah.yanega12@houghton.edu

    Comment by SisyphusFalls | April 10, 2012 | Reply

  7. Well I missed this one but how interesting that he wrote a book of poems. I wonder if they are as strange and his movies?

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | April 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

