Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Driven to Ink, by Karen E. Olson

Driven to Ink (Tattoo Shop Series #3)Finished 4-4-12, rating 4/5, mystery, 299 pages, pub. 2010

Third book in the Tattoo Shop mystery series (Book 1) (Book 2)

Brett, intrepid tattoo artist and shop owner, loans her car to Sylvia and Bernie so they can get married, the drive-through style only found in Las Vegas.  When Brett returns home and looks in the car she discovers a dead body in the trunk (I would normally say she was surprised to discover, but I don’t think she can be surprised by all the dead bodies she comes in contact with anymore).  Sylvia and Bernie are nowhere to be found and Jeff, Sylvia’s son and Brett’s tattoo nemesis turned friend, is worried enough to go looking for them.  When he can’t find them he takes Brett as his fake bride-to-be to That’s Amore wedding chapel to do a little digging.  What they find is that the singing Dean Martins appear to be dying off.  Brett sticks her nose where it doesn’t belong, again, and finds herself in a mess that forces her detective brother to babysit.

Is there anything more Vegas than competing drive-through wedding chapels, one side serenading Dean Martins and across the street singing Elvis’s?  I do love the setting for this series.  The Strip and it’s underbelly really does feel like a main character.

Brett is just as strong and nosy as ever and I still admire her spunk.  The love interest that dumped her at the end of the last book is back and the spark is rekindled, only that doesn’t mean it will work out, there are other possibilites.

I loved the first of the series, really liked the second and liked this one.  The problem is it felt a little too similar to the other two for me to be blown away.  That’s not to say that I’m not eager for the next one, I am.  I find these books so fast and easy and entertaining that they are perfect for the limited time I have to read these days.

In my review of the last book I mentioned that I felt like Brett may be getting too many tattoos and the author, Karen E Olson stopped by and left this comment:

The Napoleon tattoo is near and dear to Brett’s heart, since the painting is by her favorite neoclassicist artist, Jaques Louis David. It’s a copy of the painting of him on his horse climbing the Alps. Look it up online. It’s very cool. Thanks much for the great review! I’m thrilled you’re loving my books!

So I looked it up and it is pretty cool. Click here to see what Brett had tattooed on her leg.  I think that if I ever do dare to get a tatto I might start with something smaller, but then I’m not Brett Kavenaugh, who can obviously pull this off!

I checked this book out of he library.

April 5, 2012 - Posted by | 4 Star Books

11 Comments »

  1. Its really fun – that the author left a comment about the last book that you read! =)
    I havent read this series, I dont have any tattoos…. =)
    Great review!

    Comment by my recent favorite books | April 5, 2012 | Reply

    • I thought it was cool too. Wish it would happen more often :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  2. Its really fun – that the author left a comment about the last book that you read! =)
    I havent read this series,
    I dont have any tattoos…. =)
    Great review!

    Comment by my recent favorite books | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. I won this series from a fellow blogger and still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I’m really happy to hear you are enjoying it and that is really cool that the author left a comment on your blog.

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  4. Sometimes it’s hard for an author to keep the spark and originality going in a series, but it sounds like this author is doing a pretty good job. I’ve seen several great reviews of these books and would like to give them a try.

    Comment by bermudaonion (Kathy) | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. I think your last review I said I must read this series, I have it on my Wishlist. I have tattoos and love them, very addicting. I look forward to reading the books. I love that Karen stopped by for you.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  6. I really, really want to read the first one in this series. I don’t have any tattoos, and I’m fairly certain that I won’t get any; however, I love watching all the tattoo shows. :p

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | April 6, 2012 | Reply

  7. First off, how cool is that about the author stopping by? Okay, seriously I need to get book 2 and keep reading the series. Now I’m off to check out that tattoo!

    Comment by stacijoreads | April 9, 2012 | Reply

  8. So thrilled that you’re continuing to like the series! And just a word: The fourth book is not as similar as the other two. There are things going on for Brett that are a little more sinister. It’s actually my favorite in the series. (And I think authors should stop by more often, too!!)

    Comment by Karen Olson | April 17, 2012 | Reply

  9. [...] Book 4 of the Tattoo Shop series (Book 1) (Book 2) (Book 3) [...]

    Pingback by Ink Flamings by Karen E. Olson « Stacy's Books | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  10. [...] I am psyched to meet her when I attend Bouchercon next month. (the 3 reviews-Ink Flamingos, Driven to Ink, Pretty in [...]

    Pingback by Isn’t it great when authors leave comments on your blog? « Stacy's Books | September 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

