Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

90 Classic Books For People in a Hurry, by Henrik Lange

90 Classic Books for People in a HurryFinished 3-27-12, rating 3.5/5, graphic reference?, 170 pages, pub. 2009

Have you ever wanted to know what people were talking about when they discussed a classic novel like Moby Dick?  Well, now there’s no need to waste your time reading the behemoth novel,  just pick up this book to find out what happens. In 3 frames!!  Yes, every one of these classics is covered in 3 frames.  Some are funny, some are serious, and all left me feeling smarter than when I started.

I warn you that it is addicting which is okay since it won’t take long at all to flip through 90 pages.  I should also warn you that endings will be given away, so if you want a surprise later you may want to skip that page!

This is more entertaining than detailed (obviously) so as addicting as it is (kind of like donuts) it doesn’t give enough substance to be truly outstanding (kind of like donuts).  There are actually a few books in here I’d never heard of and more than a few that aren’t really classics.  Unless you think Pet Sematary by Stephen King and The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown are modern classics.

The descriptions of the classics I hadn’t read were funny and some of images convinced me to read the book and some convinced me that reading it would be a waste of time (Steppewolf and The Stranger come to mind).  As a matter of fact there were several classics that I enjoyed more in this book than when I actually read them (I’m thinking of Heart of Darkness here).  Are you curious how he could possible cover The Bible in 3 frames?  Let’s just say he had to do a lot of condensing.

I liked this book a lot and think it would be PERFECT for a fun graduation gift, especially if they are headed off to college.  Kind of like a gag gift, but one they’ll actually use.

I borrowed this from the library.

March 28, 2012 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

16 Comments »

  1. Haha…thank you for sharing…I think I may check this book out and see how some of the longest classics are compressed to just 3 frames.

    Comment by Frances antoinette | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. This looks like a lot of fun! I think I may give it to my brother as a gift as I am always challenging him to read classics. He is a huge SF/Fantasy reader.

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. This looks like a fun book! Off to see if my library has a copy…

    Comment by lakesidemusing | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. My son would probably appreciate this one big time!! :D

    Comment by stacijoreads | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  5. I need this book – I’m woefully under read.

    Comment by bermudaonion (Kathy) | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  6. This sounds fun!! What a challenge to cover a whole book in just three frames.

    Comment by Jenners | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  7. This sounds really fun. I have an academic sort of reference book that gives the plots of great classics, but I’d way rather have this cartoon version!!!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  8. Way back in high school one of my friends found the website Book A Minute http://www.rinkworks.com/bookaminute/

    This book sounds a lot like the contents of Book A Minute, really long classics crammed into 30 words, usually for comedic value.

    Comment by Adam | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  9. This does sound fun and the perfect gift for a graduate!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  10. I want this!! And I know a couple of kids who will graduate this spring. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    Comment by Mary | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  11. Great idea!!! There are so many classics I don’t have time to read but have always wanted to; I should just consult this book and cross them off my list : )

    Comment by Stephanie D. | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  12. this looks so awesome! Great review!

    Comment by hmsgofita | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  13. Sounds like a fun one. I may have to see if our library has it in the system.

    Comment by Carol | March 30, 2012 | Reply

  14. great idea to buy this book as a grad gift (or in my case as a hurrah! you aced your first semester gift for my daughter!) love the cuteness and usefulness of this book

    Comment by Stacy (A Novel Source) | March 30, 2012 | Reply

  15. Great gift for that college bound student. Looks like a fun read. thanks stacy :)

    Comment by jennygirl | March 31, 2012 | Reply

  16. Ok I want to read. I try to read classics I really do but I can rarely get past the first chapter. It would be nice to know what people are raving on about and not just smile and fake it :)

    Comment by caspette | April 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

