Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Still Missing, by Chevy Stevens

Still MissingFinished audio 2-17-12, rating 4/5, suspense, pub. 2010

Listened to this on a Playaway.  9 hours unabridged.  Read by Angela Dawe.

Annie is a real estate agent and after an open house she finds herself kidnapped by ‘the freak.”  She is held captive for over a year, repeatedly raped and forced to endure truly unimaginable things.  You know right from the beginning that she survives and is somehow set free because the story is told by Annie’s sessions with a psychiatrist after the fact.

I may be one of the last bloggers to read this and I’m glad I finally got around to it.  I’d read so many reviews that I was amazed that a few things still surprised me.  For the gripping thriller everyone says it was, I thought it took awhile for me to really get interested in Annie’s story. It wasn’t until a certain point in her captivity (no spoilers here) that I really wanted to know that she would be okay.  I was worried about her!  Also, I was under the impression that this was mainly the story of her being kidnapped, but in reality much of the story deals with what happens after.  And there is no shortage of things that happen upon her return to the real world.  Just when you think Annie will catch a break, another twist will keep her and the reader guessing.  My heart really did break for Annie even if when we meet her in the sessions she has a hard edge and is pretty messed up.

I liked this debut novel even if there were a few things that kept me from loving it.  One of them being what my expectations were and what this story really was and the other being the somewhat slow start for me.  I think lovers of thrillers with sometimes graphic descriptions will love this one.  If you are more the cozy mystery type then this is probably one to skip.  I am looking forward to reading her next one.

I really liked the reading by Angela Dawes.  I thought her voice really captured Annie’s spirit, broken as it was.

I checked this out of the library.

February 22, 2012 - Posted by | 4 Star Books |

14 Comments »

  1. I loved this book. I flew through it!

    Comment by The Many Thoughts of a Reader | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. Glad you enjoyed this one. I just listened to a book read by Angela Dawes too, and think she is a great reader. Never Knowing is another thrill ride of a book.

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)N | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  3. I totally get your hesitation on some of it. It was a little different than you might have expected. There was a ton at the end. The poor girl just didn’t get a break, did she?

    Comment by Jenners | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  4. Oh my gosh this sounds so freaky! I don’t know if I could read this.

    Comment by Amused | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  5. I haven’t read this one yet, but I want to. I like cozies and mysteries with graphic descriptions, so I have a feeling I’ll like this book.

    Comment by bermudaonion (Kathy) | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  6. I wanted to love this one but felt it was far out there, way unbelievable in my mind and I just didn’t enjoy it. Glad overall you liked it.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  7. Good description..I can’t really make up my mind about whether or not to read this one…

    Comment by Kimberly Cook Wright | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  8. I totally loved this one, as horrific as it was and can’t wait to read Never Knowing. Well worded review Stacy

    Comment by Teddyree | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  9. You are certainly not the last because I haven’t read it! And every review I’ve come across recommends it so I need to get on the ball.

    Comment by Stephanie D. | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  10. I may now be the last blogger to read this one! I’ve had this on my shelf for a year or two and still haven’t read it. Your review reminds me that I really need to move this one up in my queue.

    Comment by Kathleen | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  11. I loved everything about this book and her next one is almost as good as the debut novel!

    Comment by Staci@Life in the Thumb | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  12. Hey Stacy. I might have to check this out. I just finished “reading’ (on CD) Before I Go to Sleep by S J Watson. If you haven’t read it you should. It is an interesting mystery/thriller about a woman with short term memory loss (like the character of Lucy in 50 First Dates). Kept me listening!

    Comment by Linda Prahst Yanega | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  13. This was a favorite of mine!

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  14. I wasn’t thrilled by this one; maybe I am more of a cosy mystery fan.

    Comment by Care | February 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

