Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Posed for Murder, by Meredith Cole

Posed for MurderFinished 1-11-12, rating 3.5/5, mystery, 242 pages, pub. 2009

Lydia wondered how long it took before all traces of a person disappeared.  Perhaps it was when there were no longer events where people expected someone’s presence, and that person began to cease to exist even in memory.

Chapter 10

What happens in a nutshell- Lydia is a photographer and on the opening night of her first show a murderer targets one of her models.  The models all portray dead girls of unsolved crimes and Lydia worries that one murder is just the beginning. (B&N review here)

What I liked- The gritty struggle of trying to survive in New York as an artist provided a great back drop to this mystery.  I also love the premise of a killer recreating photos of murdered women that were already recreations.  Confused?   Don’t be, it worked.

What was just okay- I didn’t think the killer was all that surprising.  Lydia herself felt distant to me so I was never turning pages as fast as I could to see what would happen next.  Maybe it would have been better in first person?  Maybe not, but I usually like mysteries and thrillers best when told in first person, so that could just be my bias.

The verdict- I liked it but didn’t love it.  But what do I know?  It did win the Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition.

This was from my personal library.

 

January 19, 2012 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

16 Comments »

  1. I’ll put this down as a maybe. I don’t like when I can figure out “who dunnit” too quickly.

    Comment by Kathleen | January 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Well, at one point it didn’t seem like knowing who it was was that important. Then I realized that was one of my problems with the book!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  2. I don’t read this genre often but when I do I want it to be a page-turner. Thanks for giving us your take!

    Comment by Mary | January 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah, not one I wholeheartedly recommend, especially if you are a regular reader.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  3. I like the premise.

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)N | January 19, 2012 | Reply

  4. You know what you like … that is something!

    Comment by Jenners | January 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Haha. You watch, the next thriller I love will be in third person :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  5. I pretty much felt the same way you did.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | January 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. Oh, I’ve heard of this! Recreations of murder photos is a very good hook.

    Comment by Stephanie D. | January 20, 2012 | Reply

  7. I like first person too….sounds like it could be a good read!

    Comment by Staci | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  8. Haven’t heard of this book but it does look interesting. Enjoyed your comments.

    Comment by harvee | January 21, 2012 | Reply

  9. I might still have to give this one a chance. I do like the set-up. Usually I don’t care if they’re in the first person or not.

    Comment by Carol | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  10. I may still try this one anyway, even though it was just ok. Compared to what I’ve been reading lately….bleh. And another out of your library woo-hoo!

    Comment by jennygirl | January 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

