Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Mating Rituals of the North American WASP by Laura Lipton

Mating Rituals of the North American WASPFinished 12-4-11, rating 3.5/5, fiction, 353 pages, pub. 2009

Peggy has been waiting for Brock to propose for 7 years, so is it any surprise that after a drunken night in Vegas with girlfriends that she wakes up next to a stranger?  Oh, and that he’s her husband?  After heading back to New York City and the store she owns with her best friend, she receives a call from Luke, her Connecticut WASP husband.  This White Anglo-Saxon Protestant husband comes from one of the oldest families in New England, a fact that his aunt and friends don’t let him forget.  When his aunt finds out about his marriage she changes her will so that the pair must stay married for a year to inherit.

I liked the New England setting and aunt Abigail.  She was a hoot.  As a ninety-year old woman who was at turns fruity as a loop and sharp as a tack, she was the real heart of the novel, even with her Waspish ideas.  Luke was smart and quiet and sometimes nice.  He wasn’t the most enigmatic hero I’ve encountered, but there was nothing terrible either.  He was a solid guy.

It’s not the high brows I had a problem with it was Peggy.  I found her a distasteful character.  On weekends she’s in Connecticut playing married for money and during the week she’s in New York with a clueless Brock.  She never really won me over, no matter how much I liked her friends.

I liked the story and the humor and the way that Lipton played on the stereotypes of the old, moneyed New England families.  It’s only my dislike for Peggy that kept me from loving this one.

This is from my personal library.

December 15, 2011 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

10 Comments »

  1. I think I liked this one more than you did. I didn’t love it, but I thought it was a lot of fun.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. I remember this making the rounds last year and wanting to read it … but it does sounds like Peggy might not be someone you love.

    Comment by Jenners | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. I liked it more than you – thought it was entertaining. Honestly, I don’t remember Peggy. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not! What really stuck with me? What the WASPs serve at a cocktail party ;-)

    Comment by Mary | December 15, 2011 | Reply

    • I admit, that has stuck with me too. LOL!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  4. I don’t think I’d like Peggy, either, if she was stringing Brock along.

    Comment by softdrink | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  5. I don’t remember all the details of this book because it’s been awhile since I read it, but I do remember enjoying it. Probably more than you did. I remember loving Aunt Abigail.

    Comment by Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  6. I have this one on my stack, but it does not call to me (yet?).

    Comment by Nise' | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  7. Peggy has to go!! I have a copy (I think?…won it..I think?) on my shelves….I won’t run upstairs pulling it off the shelf anytime soon!!

    Comment by stacilifeinthethumb | December 15, 2011 | Reply

  8. I remember this book being popular for a while especially because the title makes me laugh. Too bad one of the man characters isn’t very likeable. It cracks me up that Peggy’s NYC boyfriend is named Brock, it makes me think of a tan, beefy, air-headed guy…it sounds like poor Brock is kind of air-headed! (I see you called him clueless!)

    Comment by Amy | December 16, 2011 | Reply

  9. I was interested until you said Peggy was a pooper. Thanks for the honesty but I’ll pass.

    Comment by jennygirl | December 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

