Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sprinkle with Murder, by Jenn McKinlay

Sprinkle with Murder (Cupcake Bakery Mystery Series #1)Finished 10-22-11, rating 3.5/5, mystery, 222 pages, pub. 2010

Book 1 Cupcake Bakery Mystery series

Melanie Cooper, Angie DeLaura and Tate Harper have been best friends forever and now they are in business together with Fairy Tale Cupcakes.  When Tate’s fiance is murdered by a killer cupcake the police are very interested in Mel’s relationship with Tate and the ingredients of her cupcakes.

I liked that the characters were fun and the relationships interesting.  Mel was a strong woman who followed her dreams and was comfortable in her own skin.  She still had her insecurities with men, which only made her more appealing.

I liked that it was a fast and easy read and a great set-up for the series.  This was a perfect first book for the read-a-thon.  Not my normal type of mystery, this was more of a cozy, but it was solid.  I chose it because I can now say I’ve been to Arizona in the States challenge.

I didn’t like Mel’s ridiculous cavalier attitude at the end.  She seemed to think that she could be a detective and put herself in dangerous situations.  I know lots of mysteries are this way, but nothing that Mel did made me think she was smart enough to stay alive.

I didn’t like that all I wanted to do after reading this was go buy a gourmet cupcake!

I checked this book out of the library.

Take a minute to vote for the scariest characters in literature.

October 26, 2011 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

7 Comments »

  1. I like this series. I can certainly find my with too many cozies on my list, but I seem to be in the mood for one now and then. And by cozies in this regard, I mean these foodie/hobby/bookie-type cozies. Anyway, this one is cute and I liked the setting of Scottsdale. Recognized several things there. And, my goodness, the cupcakes. Probably good I don’t know of a shop like this because I’d want to visit it all the time!!

    Comment by Kay | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. This sounds like a fun read…I love cozy mysteries for a break from the heavier ones…

    Comment by Pinkim (kim wright) | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. I want a cupcake just from reading your review!!! I’m on a big food kick right now ! :D Sounds like a fun cozy for the winter months!

    Comment by Staci Collins Taylor | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. I was thinking, Stacy doesn’t read cozies…….. lol. I have cozies on my Wishlist for when in the mood and I have realised i’m never in that mood, hahahahah

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | October 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. I like cozy mysteries and I love cupcakes. This might be a must-read for me.

    Comment by Carol | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  6. That always bugs me in these sorts of books. “The power went out, the phones went dead, I couldn’t get hold of the authorities. Oh wait I will go and apprehend the dangerous murderer all by myself” really who thinks like that?

    Which is why I tend to like more quirky cosy’s. But they can be great quick reads. But now I want a cupcake dammit.

    Comment by caspette | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  7. [...] Arizona  Sprinkle with Murder by Jenn McKinlay [...]

    Pingback by Challenging Year « Stacy's Books | December 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

