Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Dead Until Dark, by Charlaine Harris

Dead until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #1) (True Blood)Finished 9-26-11, rating 4.5/5, Vampire mystery, 292 pages, pub. 2001

You can tell I don’t get out much.  And it’s not because I’m not pretty.  I am.  I’m blond and blue-eyed and twenty-five, and my legs are strong and my bosom is substantial, and I have a waspy waistline.  I look good in the warm weather waitress outfit Sam picked for us: black shorts, white socks, black Nikes.

But I have a disability.  That’s how I try to think of it.

The bar patrons just say I’m crazy.

Either way, the result is that I almost never have a date.  So little treats count a lot with me.

And he sat at one of my tables-the vampire.

Chapter 1

Sookie is a waitress in Louisiana.  Bill is a vampire trying to assimilate into the human world.  While vampires are now legal beings they are not really accepted so when dead waitresses start showing up, Bill is in trouble.

I really don’t read vampire stories.  I did read the first Twilight and was entertained, but not so overwhelmed that I wanted to read more.  So, I skimmed all the reviews on this one and thought that I would give it a try someday, but it wasn’t until I picked this first one up at Border’s and then realized it would help me on two challenges that I started to read.  The verdict is still out on vampires in general, but I totally loved this book.

What’s there to say about Sookie that has’t already been said?  Sookie knows who she is and isn’t afraid to show the world. She hadn’t really considered the upside of her ‘disability’ and it was fun to see her start to see herself in a new light.  I loved that she was brave and impulsive and looking for some excitement.

The plot had more serious twists than I was expecting and that’s a good thing.  The mystery was solid, but it was much more fun finding out more about vampire protocol.  A vampire book I loved.  Who knew?

This was so much fun to read that I know I will be continuing on with Sookie, Bill & Co.  It was light and fun and told with great humor and sass.

This was from my personal library.  I picked it up (and way too many other books from my wish list) from Border’s for practically nothing.

September 28, 2011 - Posted by | 4 1/2 Star Books |

17 Comments »

  1. I feel the same way way about vampire books in general, but this really sounds too good to resist!

    Comment by JoAnn | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. I didn’t love this the way most people do. I think I need to try the next book in the series.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. I made the mistake of reading the first book and then watching True Blood. I need to go back to the books now that I don’t get the channel that the show is on.

    Comment by Nise' | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m so glad you loved this – me too! I got to like the HBO series too even though it really diverges from the books, but one gets desperate for more of the characters after one finishes all the books! :–)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  5. I read the first few in the series and really liked them, but then I got bored with it.

    Comment by Carol | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  6. I still haven’t picked up any of the books in this series but I know I will one day since so many have said good things about them.

    Comment by Kathleen | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  7. I have yet to read any Sookie books … some day …

    Comment by Dawn - She Is Too Fond of Books | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  8. I really liked this book but somehow or other never went further into the series. Maybe once I fall in love with vampires again…

    Comment by Stephanie D. | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  9. I just loved this series at one point and then I think I had a overload when I got book 7 or 8 :D Now I am on a self-imposed Sookie ban :)

    Comment by Veens | September 29, 2011 | Reply

  10. Fun! These books always sound so good when people talk about them!

    Comment by Marie | September 29, 2011 | Reply

  11. I still haven’t fallen in love with this series yet. I’m actually leaning toward trying the TV series instead. They are sassy and sexy though!

    Comment by Jenners | September 29, 2011 | Reply

  12. This is the first one, right? The opening lines are interesting and make me consider this series. Thanks Girlie!

    Comment by jennygirl | September 30, 2011 | Reply

  13. I have to say I didn’t like this series, or more acurately I hate the vampire boyfriend at the start (cant even remember his name). Glad you liked it though, my mum LOVES this series.

    Comment by Caspette | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  14. I had the same feelings about Twilight as you did and haven’t even given this one a second thought, except for the fact that everybody seems to love it. Hmmm

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  15. [...] completed Carl’s RIP challenge with 2 books…Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris and Buried Prey by John Sandford.  I’m listening to the Witches of Eastwick but am not going [...]

    Pingback by Scariest Character Results, RIP, and another winner « Stacy's Books | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  16. [...] completed Carl’s RIP challenge with 2 books…Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris and Buried Prey by John Sandford.  I’m listening to the Witches of Eastwick but am not going [...]

    Pingback by Scariest Character Results, RIP, and another winner « Stacy's Books | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  17. [...] Lousiana Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris [...]

    Pingback by Challenging Year « Stacy's Books | December 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

