Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Beginnings Quiz – guessing closed

Border’s is finally closed and it is a good thing for my overpacked bookshelves.  It became a fun trip for Gage and I to go and browse every few days and I’m embarrassed by how many books I brought home.  All you need to do is tell me which book matches which first lines.  Oh, I added a few extra books for fun :)

Please play along with us.  For everyone who plays an extra $ goes to the winner and the everyone is entered for a special prize.  Just leave a comment with your guesses and don’t google the answers.

Rules & Leaderboard here.  Last week’s Pictured Title Quiz here.

1. Half my life ago, I killed a girl.  Half a Life

2. For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been blamed for everything that has gone wrong in town.  Practical Magic

3. Alone in the evenings, when the light had drained from the slate roof of her small rural home, and when her husband was working late, Mary Gooch would perform a striptease for the stars at the open bedroom window: shifting out of rumpled bottoms, slipping off a blousy top, liberating breasts, peeling panties, her creamy flesh spilling forth until she was completely, exquisitely nude.  The Wife’s Tale

4. Tonight I’ve been thinking about the mosaic Hope gave me the night she U-hauled ass out of Pineville.  Sloppy Firsts

5. “I suppose the important thing is to make some sort of difference,” she said.  One Day

6. You know, Doc, you’re not the first shrink I’ve seen since I got back.  Still Missing

7. Once my wife asked me: if you knew this was our final day together, what would you say to me?  Adrenaline

8. She hadn’t believed in monsters since she was six years old, back when her mom would check the closet and look beneath her bed at night.  Sworn to Silence

9. Now I am here, in Krakow, where my life began.  Sonata fo Miriam

10. Gracie Lynne Calloway began her small life in Shady Grove, Alabama, fast asleep in a coal bucket on the front porch of 1854 Peachtree Lane.  Salting Roses

11. I wasn’t surprised when Mama askked me to save her life.  The Murderer’s Daughters

12. Why I feel the sudden urge to relate, in pen and ink, a relationship of the most personal nature, which I have never before acknowledged, I cannot say.  The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

September 20, 2011 - Posted by | Quizzes | ,

16 Comments »

  1. #5 is One Day and #7 is Adrenaline

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | September 20, 2011 | Reply

    • 17 more points for you :) See how easy it is?

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. Ooh, I know one!! Here are my guesses.

    #1 Half a Life
    #2 Practical Magic
    #3 The Wife’s Tale
    #4
    #5 One Day
    #6 Sworn to Silence
    #7 Adrenaline
    #8
    #9
    #10 Salting Roses
    #11
    #12 The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

    Comment by BermudaOnion | September 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Only one wrong guess! Even though I haven’t read it yet I just loved that first line in The Wife’s Tale ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. Yea, I’m so glad to be able to play again. It’s been no fun having to be left out!! LOL

    1. Half a Life
    2. Practical Magic
    3. The Wife’s Tale
    4. Sloppy Firsts
    5. One Day
    6. Still Missing
    7. The First Husband
    8. Sworn to Silence
    9.Sonata for Miriam
    10. Salting Roses
    11.The Murderers Daughters
    12.The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

    I’ve probably gotten almost all of them wrong. And I’ve even read several of these. :-)

    Comment by Kay | September 20, 2011 | Reply

    • You are never left out Kay, we always leave a spot open for you :) And what a way to come back – you only missed 1! 93.5 points! Awesome.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. I have 11 of those same books! I will have to come back to this quiz when I have more time and a pencil!

    Comment by Staci | September 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, you never came back :( but I’m giving you a point because we have the same books :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. Well I know half

    1 Half a Life
    2 Practical Magic
    3 The Wife’s Tale
    4 Sloppy Firsts
    5 The Lost memories of Jane Austen?
    6 The Violets or March ?
    7 Still Missing ?
    8 Sworn to Silence ?
    9 Adrenline?
    10 Salting Roses
    11 The Murderer’s Daughter ?
    12 One Day?

    Comment by Jennifer Rayment | September 21, 2011 | Reply

    • All good guesses! 7 correct for 59.5 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. Some great books here!
    1. Half a Life
    2. Practical Magic
    3. The Wife’s Tale
    4. Sloppy Firsts
    5. One Day
    6. Still Missing
    7. ? The First Husband
    8. Sworn to Silence
    9. ? The Violets of March
    10. Salting Roses
    11. The Murder’s Daughter
    12. The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen

    Comment by Nise' | September 21, 2011 | Reply

  7. Oh, man this is a toughie.

    2. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman

    Comment by StephanieD | September 21, 2011 | Reply

  8. 1. Half a Life
    2. Practical Magic
    3. A Wife’s Tale
    4. Sloppy Firsts
    5. Talking to Girls About Duran Duran
    6. Still Missing
    7. Adrenaline
    8. Sworn to Silence
    9. Sonata for Miriam
    10. Salting Roses
    11. The Murderer’s Daughters
    12. One Day

    Comment by softdrink | September 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Only missed 2! 85 points for you :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

