Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage- Privacy

I remember a friend telling me when I first told her I was pregnant that I would get used to the uncomfortable doctor visits and by the time the baby arrived that I would have no shame and wouldn’t care who was looking or poking and prodding or where.  She was mostly right.  And I know that last illusion of privacy, the bathroom, is one that I will probably not get to appreciate again for many years.  But, if someone were to watch me sleep I am sure I would be appalled.  I am a light sleeper, which is great now that Gage is here.  I am never still for very long (I’m guessing) and I  know I snore occasionally (yuck).

Now that we’ve started watching Gage’s video monitor like it’s reality tv I feel a little guilty.  When he wasn’t moving around much it was great to see that he was okay, but now that he’s moving around more I see that he sleeps a lot like his mother. Poor kid. But he’s also bendy like his dad, yay :)   A few shots will show you just how much fun it can be to watch him from the comfort of your own bed.  These were taken over the course of one night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you think he’s got the camera figured out?  The video monitor is a wonderful thing for parents but I’ve also come to rely on it and feel nervous when I can’t see him.  What did you all do before monitors?  I think sometimes that I might get a better night’s sleep!

September 18, 2011 - Posted by | Gage |

25 Comments »

  1. It looks like he knows right where to look! You will get years of use out of that. When my kids were teenagers and having friends of both sexes over and downstairs in the family room, I put it out of sight and when I wanted to check on what was going on, I turned on the receiver. Oh yes I did! Video would have been better!

    Comment by Nise' | September 18, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL! Do your kids know that? If you’d had video you never would have gotten anything done!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. OMG – I had no idea there were video monitors now!!! Of course, I haven’t used/shopped for one in about 15 years, lol. Gage is adorable.

    Comment by JoAnn | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. We used to leave the door ajar and try to sneak in to see what baby was up to. We almost always woke a sleeping baby so I can see where this would be invaluable. But I also think I’d never want to stop using it, LOL. Parenting is quite a different experience now than even 15 years ago! It has to be fun watching :)

    Comment by Mary | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  4. That video cam is funny! I think he certainly knows it is there…check out the devilish grin :D

    I used a monitors sans the video though. I’m not sure that you’ll ever get a solid good nights sleep until after he’s graduated and living on his own!!

    Comment by Staci | September 18, 2011 | Reply

    • That’s a long time from now. Thanks for the light at the end of the 18 year old tunnel!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Oh yes, I’d say he has the camera figured out. He has his parents figured out too. You can tell from Gage’s wide open eyes that he’s very curious about everything in this new world. He’s probably only sleeping from exhaustion and then he’s eager to wake up and see what else is going on. Forget the idea of a full night’s sleep. That’s only for people with no children at home.

    Comment by Margot | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  6. That’s adorable! My sister’s baby would have grabbed the monitor and eaten it, so I’m glad to see Gage takes a more reasonable approach!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  7. Wow! So cute. I don’t think I would’ve been able to do it since I wouldn’t want anything to wake him up at all! But for nostalgic purposes, yeah these are cute! You can tell Gage when he gets older that you stalked him from your own bedroom! lol. We still use the baby monitor and it’s fun hearing his talking to himself and playing and all of that. Good times! Love those pics!!!!

    Comment by Heather | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  8. No video monitor for us. Ours is the old fashioned audio kind. :-) I wouldn’t mind a video one, but hubby didn’t think of was worth the money. I know I would be watching it constantly if we did have one though. Lol

    Comment by literaryfeline | September 18, 2011 | Reply

    • I registered for it and 3 of my family members went together to get it for us. I love it!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 23, 2011 | Reply

  9. That one where he is looking right at the camera is hilarious!! Love it! And he is a little yogi master in there!!! My son is all over the place when he sleeps but it isn’t as cute now!

    Comment by Jenners | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  10. how cool, don’t think they had these when my boys were littlies lol

    Comment by Teddyree | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  11. Yup, he knows how the video monitor works! ;)

    When my daughter was a baby, we had a regular walkie-talkie-like monitor, but I was always up and checking her a bazillion times a night because she moved around in her sleep a lot and I’m a big worrier. Wish they had those video monitors back then!

    Comment by Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) | September 19, 2011 | Reply

    • I am constantly checking it so it saves lots of trips out of bed!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 23, 2011 | Reply

  12. How cute. I didn’t know they had video monitors now.

    Comment by Carol | September 19, 2011 | Reply

  13. How Funny! I especially love the bottom ones where he’s looking straight into the camera.

    I have a love/hate relationship with the monitor. I actually don’t watch the video hardly ever–my husband drains the battery before we even head to bed because he can’t stop watching her squirm in her sleep. I’m sure I’ll watch it more when she’s actually rolling around. But I would love a good night’s sleep without the montior! ;)

    Comment by Trish | September 19, 2011 | Reply

    • You and me both :) He is so fun to watch right now!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | September 23, 2011 | Reply

  14. I wish I’d had this when my son was a baby! I would be hooked on it for sure. We just had the audio monitor.

    Comment by Stephanie D. | September 19, 2011 | Reply

  15. I think he has definitely figured out the camera! That last shot is too cute for words. Just think, millions of kids have survived without sleep time monitoring and so will Gage. I say just use the old school baby monitor.

    Comment by jennygirl | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  16. gosh, looks like gage sleeps about as much as you do! ha. i think he’s on to the camera, too. as for babies in general, i have no idea how parents do it. i babysat for my cousin’s 4-month-old and spent the entire evening watching the baby video monitor. it was soooo stressful. if i had kids, i’d never sleep.

    Comment by natalie @ book, line, and sinker | September 24, 2011 | Reply

  17. He’s a Gumby! If we had a video monitor, I’d be watching all the time! We only had audio, and I was glued to that. :)

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | September 24, 2011 | Reply

  18. You baby stalker!!! Thanks for such a laugh – he is too damn funny looking right at the camera instead of sleeping – little bugger.

    We have a video monitor and I found myself watching it non-stop. Is he breathing? Sleeping? Stirring? Then one day the thing broke. Thankfully the folks who gave it to us bought a protection plan with it so we were able to ship it back. I got the refund gift card today and will be buying a replacement tomorrow. But I have to tell you, using the simple audio only monitor in the meantime has really taught me to leave him be and not jump up at every little wiggle – to be more aware of his sounds instead. I do miss stalking his cute little face though ;0)

    Comment by Bumbles | October 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

