Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Glass Flame, by Phyllis Whitney

Product DetailsFinished 5-18-11, rating 3.5/5, mystery, 317 pages, pub. 1978

Karen’s husband, David, has been killed in a fire and she thinks it was murder because of a letter he sent her just before the explosion that claimed his life.  Their marriage wasn’t a good one, but she did feel an obligation to check out the situation surrounding the fires that he had gone to Tennessee to investigate.  David’s half-brother, Trevor, is an architect and the victim of the fires.  Trevor was also Karen’s first unrequited love.  Now she is staying in his house with his wife and child and there is no end to the weirdness happening there.

I thought the mystery was good.  It was creepy and there were just enough people involved that you got to know them but not too many that you got confused.  I liked getting to know more about architecture and photography.  The book is dated, but not in a bad way.

I will say that the characters didn’t really behave in a way I expected, so I didn’t really connect with them, but I still enjoyed the mystery.  The only thing that seemed over the top was Karen’s love for Trevor.  For some reason it annoyed me, maybe because it seemed so baseless.

If you like Barbara Michaels or Victoria Holt, I think you’d like Whitney.

This was from my personal library.

May 19, 2011 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

9 Comments »

  1. I have read both Barbara Michaels and Victoria Holt. So I think I might give Phyllis Whitney’s books a try too.
    I might have a problem being unable to connect with the characters as well. But I am glad to hear that the mystery was good.

    Comment by Misha | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. It sounds like nothing goes right for poor Karen.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. I wonder if I’ve read this one. The title is familiar. Years ago I read a lot of Whitney (as well as Holt).

    Comment by Nise' | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. I read a lot of all three of the authors in years past. Not sure I read this one, but I did read many Phyllis Whitney books. I liked her first adult mystery, THE RED CARNELIAN, a lot. It’s a bit hard to find now, but it’s set in a department store and someone is killed in big window, while it is being dressed. Always liked that concept.

    Comment by Kay | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  5. Creepy old school books at their finest. Thanks staci :) good review.

    Comment by jennygirl | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. I haven’t read either one of the authors you noted nor have I read a Phyllis Whitney book either. I’d give it a try.

    Comment by Staci | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. Phyllis A. Whitney! I haven’t read her in years; ‘Domino’ was my first, I picked it up for a dime in the early ’90′s at a flea market. After that I sought out others by her in our local library though I haven’t read ‘The Glass Flame’.

    Comment by Wanda | July 7, 2011 | Reply

  8. Does anyone recall the Phyllis Whitney book that talks about the “emerald flash?”

    Comment by Kathy Eutsler | October 1, 2011 | Reply

  9. [...] Tennessee  The Glass Flame by Phyllis Whitney [...]

    Pingback by Challenging Year « Stacy's Books | December 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

