Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Five Words for Charity

When I read through some of the posts from the latest read-a-thon I saw that some people were giving money to charity based on the number of comments left on their posts.  I like this idea.  As with any good idea I must tinker with it and make it my own.  Here’s what I’ve come up with…

Tomorrow is the end of the month and the day I post my 5 word movie reviews and it will also give you the opportunity to add your two cents for charity.

Leave a comment with 1-5 words to describe the movie (don’t forget to tell me which one) and you will have contributed $1 to charity.  How easy is that?!  As a bonus, I’ll also contribute $1 for any 1-5 word review you leave on any of my previously reviewed movies (the list is here).  I’m going to count all the reviews you all have already contributed.  That’s $22 already in the charity fund!

So, what’s the charity?  You tell me.  Once we reach $100 the person who has contributed the most reviews will get to pick a charity and write a blog post about it (if they want).  Since I’m counting previous reviews that means Heather is in the lead with 4, but that’s not so many that you can’t catch up :)  She is followed by Stephanie with 3, Bermudaonion, Jo-Jo, Jenners, Hannah and Richard with 2 each, and Kay, Bumbles, Carol, Alice and Margot with 1 apiece.

It’s up to you how long this lasts.  You could all get busy and we could have a winner and a charity before the weekend is over or you could make us wait quite a while to know the lucky charity.  My two stipulations are that the charity must have a website or be able to accept online donations and that the reviews are real and not made up :)

Looking forward to your participation and giving money to a worthy charity.

April 29, 2011 - Posted by | 5 Word Movie Reviews, movies | ,

14 Comments »

  1. Oh, what a fabulous idea! I’ll eagerly await your movie post and hopefully, I’ve seen some of them so I can leave a review :)

    Comment by Stephanie D. | April 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Awesome idea! I might have to borrow your neat idea for myself if that is ok but I think I’ll do books. Full credit to you though.

    Comment by Jenners | April 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Borrow away :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. Great idea! I love giving reviews on movies!

    Comment by Heather | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. Just commented with my five word review on RED.

    Comment by Heather | May 3, 2011 | Reply

  5. My 5 word review for My Man Godfrey:

    Carole: the quintessential madcap heroine

    Comment by The Gal Herself | May 9, 2011 | Reply

  6. [...] month you can give money to charity by contributing your 5 words (Details here).  Please join the fun   Past 5 Word Reviews here.  We’re up to [...]

    Pingback by June’s 5 Word Movie Reviews & Money for Charity « Stacy's Books | July 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. Fantastic idea, love it and very generous :)

    Comment by Teddyree | July 29, 2011 | Reply

  8. [...] month you can give money to charity by contributing your 5 words (Details here).  Please join the fun   Past 5 Word Reviews here.  We’re up to [...]

    Pingback by October’s 5 Word Movie Reviews & $ for Charity « Stacy's Books | November 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. [...] month you can give money to charity by contributing your 5 words (Details here).  Please join the fun   Past 5 Word Reviews here.  We’re up to [...]

    Pingback by November’s 5 Word Movie Reviews & $ for Charity « Stacy's Books | November 30, 2011 | Reply

  10. Poor news – Syria’s ‘mutilation mystery’ deepens…

    Comment by Jessica Cooper | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  11. [...] month you can give money to charity by contributing your 5 words (Details here).  Please join the fun   Past 5 Word Reviews here.  We’re up to [...]

    Pingback by December’s 5 Word Movie Reviews – Join In « Stacy's Books | December 28, 2011 | Reply

  12. [...] reviews and once we reached 100 then I would donate $100 to the charity of the top participant (details here).  Well, you did it and we have a runaway winner. Nolatari of Phrenetical::A State of Mind sped [...]

    Pingback by Money for Charity Winner! « Stacy's Books | January 13, 2012 | Reply

  13. Many thanks for writing about intriguing topics…

    Comment by Chris Brenard | February 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

