Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Sugar Queen, by Sarah Addison Allen

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen: CD Audiobook CoverFinished 2-28-11, rating 3.5/5, fiction, pub. 2008

Unabridged audio is 8 hours, 2 minutes.  Narrated by Karen White.

Josey Cirrini is a 27-year-old who hides sweets and romance novels in her closet so her perfect southern belle mother doesn’t see them.  She lives in servitude of her mother with no life of her own until a local woman shows up in her closet to hide out for a while, seemingly to escape a boyfriend.  She draws Josey out of her shell and she starts to develop relationships that her mother doesn’t approve of.  Chloe and Adam both give Josey the confidence she needs to take a look at life in the small North Carolina town where everyone remembers her as a mean child.

I sympathized with Josey, but only so far.  I understand about living in a small town, but her knee jerk reaction to her father’s death (this happened before the book began) and her choices because of it seemed extreme.  I was much more interested in Chloe’s mysterious book ability.  When Chloe had a need in her life the perfect book would appear in front of her.  How awesome would this be?  I totally loved Chloe’s story and her transformation.  I think this is why I liked but didn’t love the book, I wanted Chloe to be the main character, not Josey.  I wanted to give Josey a little tough love pep talk.

Lots of people told me I would like this one better that Allen’s first book, Garden Spells, but I didn’t.  Maybe I was expecting too much. It was good, but I didn’t love it like I did Garden Spells.  I wanted a little more magic.

I checked this audio out of the library.

March 9, 2011 Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books | | 19 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers