Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Fave Film #78 – The Proposal

2009

Cast- Sandra Bullock, Ryan Reynolds, Betty White, Mary Steenburgen, Craig T. Nelson

Margaret Tate is a powerful book editor in New York City and Andrew Paxton is her beaten down executive assistant of three years.  When Margaret is told she’ll be deported back to Canada because she didn’t take care of her visa she forces Andrew to marry her so she can stay in the country and keep her job.  They head to Sitka, Alaska to tell his family and the threat of the immigration officer follows them.

Why I love it – This is not the best romantic comedy ever made, but there are so many things I love about it.  I loved the interaction and chemistry between Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds.  The love/hate back and forth was fun and I could watch those two all day.  They are a great pair and I’d like to see them together again.  I also loved Betty White.  As Gammy she stole the scenes she was in and this was the beginning of her resurgence back into the spotlight, where she rightfully belongs.  The rest of the cast was great and I’ll give a shout out to Ramone, Sitka’s caterer, exotic dancer, and general store clerk.  Every town should have one :)

The movie is more funny than romantic and it works.  And we got to see both leads naked, not something every movie has the guts to do.  Thank you, Ryan!  It was supposed to take place in Alaska, but it was mainly filmed in Massachusetts and it was beautiful.  Makes me want to vacation there.  There is nothing new in the plot, but it’s the acting, humor, and the leads that make this a guilty pleasure for me. 

January 28, 2011 Posted by | movies | | 16 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers