Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

John Grisham Adaptation Quiz – Guessing Closed

Most of us have seen at least one film based on a John Grisham novel or short story, so this week let’s see if you can place these faces with the Grisham movie. You only need to tell me the movie (not the actor’s name or character).  They are all direct adaptations and the images may or may not be from the Grisham movie – I can’t make it that easy! 

Each correct answer is worth 10 points.  You have until Friday noon to submit your answers as a comment.  I hide your answers until then.

A few rules…No cheating.  No googling or looking at other commenter answers.  Yes, we’re going by the honor system…Your first answers will be the only ones accepted…Have fun!

 This round for every participant I have (currently at $25)  I will put in a $ for a B&N gift card or a Babies R Us gift card for the winner. Even if you play only once you are eligible to win the second prize (something special I pick out) and you will be adding money to the kitty for the winner.  

Answers to last week’s First and Last Quiz here (there were some perfect scores!).  Current Leaderboard here.

1.  A Time To Kill (1996)

2.  The Firm (1993)

3.  The Pelican Brief (1993)

4.   The Runaway Jury (2003)

5.   Skipping Christmas/Christmas with the Kranks (2004)

6.    The Client (1994)

7.  The Chamber (1996)

8.   The Rainmaker (1997)

9.   The Painted House (2003)

10.  The Gingerbread Man (1998)

January 25, 2011 - Posted by | Quizzes | , ,

35 Comments »

  1. I thought I would do really well at this one, I recognised a lot, but I could only remember the name of a few eeep when does baby brain wear off again?

    1. A Time To Kill (I remember this one because I was being a Matthew McConaughey fan girl at the time)
    2.The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    8. The Rainmaker (again a Matt Damon fan girl phase, ok never really grew out of this phase he is still hot LOL)

    Comment by caspette | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 40 points! You mean baby brain hasn’t worn off? That’s not a good sign for me :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m sure I’ll bomb this one. Here are my guesses:

    #1 A Time to Kill
    #2 The Firm
    #5 Skipping Christmas
    #6 The Client

    Comment by bermudaonion | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 40 points! That’s about what I would have gotten if I had taken it instead of making it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. Well, I will know part of these, but definitely not all.

    1. A Time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. Runaway Jury (?)
    5. Skipping Christmas
    6. The Client
    7. can’t think of it – Gene Hackman was the grandfather in prison I think
    8.
    9. Was this the baseball one? Something Season?
    10.

    I quit reading Grisham books and I think I also quite watching the movies. :-(

    Comment by Kay | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, you got the first 6 right for 60 points! As I was making the quiz I was surprised that it’s been quite a few years since he’s had a movie made.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  4. 1. The Rainmaker? I’m just really guessing. I know it was set in the South and everyone was sweaty.
    2.The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. The Juror/ The Jury???
    6. Dead Man Walking???
    7. The Rainmaker? I know I already said this but I’m confused. This is the insurance one, right?
    Gee, I thought I knew more of these.

    Comment by StephanieD | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, you got two right for 20 points. The Rainmaker was #8 :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  5. 1. A Time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. The Runaway Jury
    5. Christmas with the Kranks
    6. The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8. The Rainmaker
    9. A Painted House
    10. The Gingerbread Man

    Comment by Word Lily | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 100 points! Congrats on the perfect score :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  6. 1) A Time to Kill
    2) The Firm
    3) The Pelican Brief
    4) The Chamber (guessing)
    5) Christmas with the Kranks (book: Skipping Christmas)
    6) The Client
    7) The Runaway Jury
    8) The Client

    I stopped reading Grisham a few years ago, so I think that’s it for me. I may lose my LB rank this week! :)

    I lived in Memphis during the time a few of these were filmed on location there. And I’d forgotten Gene Hackman was in so many of them!

    Comment by Florinda | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 50 points! Lots of the titles sound so similar I have a hard time remembering which was which.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  7. 3. The Pelican Brief

    I’ve read the books but haven’t seen the movies! lol

    Comment by Carol M | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  8. 1. A Time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. The Runaway Jury
    5. Skipping Christmas
    6. The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8. The Rainmaker
    9. A Painted House
    10. The Gingerbread Man

    Yeah! I knew these! Woot! I haven’t read Grisham in years but I’ve seen most of his movies.

    Comment by Heather | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Woo Hoo! A perfect score :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  9. 1 = A Time To Kill (his best book – not the best movie)
    2 = The Firm (I think this was the best movie)
    3 = The Pelican Brief (although this was pretty good too – Denzel didn’t hurt)
    4 = The Runaway Jury (I think this is right – it has been a long time)
    5 = ? I have no clue what Tim Allen and Jamie Lee Curtis have to do with Grisham! Maybe this is when I stopped reading his stuff.
    6 = The Client (I liked that this one was pretty much exactly the same as the book)
    7 = The Chamber (this is the death penalty one – I never thought Chris O’Donnell was exactly right for this role though – was Gene Hackman on speed dial for Grisham movies or what?)
    8 = The Rainmaker? (this is the insurance co. scam book – but I never saw the movie – just guessing here but it has to be one of these)
    9 = A Painted House (I loved this story – so different from his usual stuff – too bad it was only made into a Hallmark special)
    10 = ? I don’t even know who those actors are!

    Comment by Bumbles | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 80 points! I think The Firm was the best one too :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  10. 1 A Time to Kill
    2 The Firm
    3 The Pelican Brief
    4 Runaway Jury
    5 Christmas with Kranks(Skipping Christmas)
    6 The Client
    7 The Chamber
    8 The Rainmaker
    9 A Painted House
    10 ?

    Comment by Nise' | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 90 points! The last one is tricky ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  11. You are a crazy woman!! I love these quizzes even though I suck big time on them!! Here I go:
    1. A time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. Pelican Brief
    4.
    5. Skipping Christmas
    I don’t know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Staci | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 40 points is about what I would have gotten if I had taken it. That’s why I make them instead!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  12. 1.A time to kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. The Runaway Jury
    5.Christmas with the Kranks
    6.The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8.The Rainmaker
    9.A Painted House
    10.The Gingerbread Man

    LOVE John Grisham!

    Comment by pinkflipflops | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 100 points! Congratulations on a perfect Grisham score!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  13. 1. A Time To Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. Runaway Jury
    5. Christmas With The Kranks
    6. The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8. Rainmaker

    Comment by Calila | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • 80 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  14. i had watched some of them :)

    1. A Time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. Runaway Jury
    5. Christmas with The Kranks
    6. The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8. The Rainmaker
    9. A Painted House
    10. The Gingerbread Man

    Comment by Mariska | January 26, 2011 | Reply

    • A perfect score! Woo Hoo, Mariska!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  15. I used to be addicted to John Grisham books and movies once upon a time :D
    1. A Time to Kill
    2. The Firm
    3. The Pelican Brief
    4. Runaway Jury
    5. Christmas with The Kranks
    6. The Client
    7. The Chamber
    8. The Rainmaker
    9. A Painted House
    10.

    Comment by Misha | January 26, 2011 | Reply

    • 90 points for the Grisham fan!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  16. I’ve got nuthin’. I’m horrible at remembering movies, even though I know I’ve seen some of these. :-(

    Comment by softdrink | January 27, 2011 | Reply

    • I think they all sound the same!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  17. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stacy Putman, Dr. Dr said: John Grisham Adaptation Quiz « Stacy's Books http://bit.ly/dMhokk [...]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention John Grisham Adaptation Quiz « Stacy's Books -- Topsy.com | January 27, 2011 | Reply

  18. Someone might want to smack me, but in Grishams case, I usually like the movie better than the book – sorry!

    1 A Time to Kill
    2 The Firm
    3 The Pelican Brief
    4 Runaway Jury
    5 No frickin idea!!
    6 The Client (Awesome movie!!!!!!)
    7 The Chamber
    8 The Rainmaker
    9 nope, no idea
    10 nope another one no idea

    Comment by Jennifer Rayment | January 28, 2011 | Reply

    • 70 points! I know I’ve seen more of the movies than I’ve read of the books.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 28, 2011 | Reply

  19. I’ve read all of those books and have seen several of the movies. I don’t think I would have remembered more than 2 of the correct answers! Eeep! Old age must be creeping in…

    Comment by Wrighty | January 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

