Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Monday Movie Meme – Illness

Feature Presentation…MONDAY MOVIE MEME
This week’s movie topic is all about Illness…Share on your blog movies that contain a form of illness as its theme or feature a character who is sick or diseased, linking back here at The Bumbles.
  
I generally steer clear of movies that will make me cry, but here are a few that snuck up on me.
 
1. Terms of Endearment (1983)  Cried like a baby when I saw this.  Of course I was a baby at 12, but still.  The cast was excellent and the story, well, it’s the first movie that came to mind when I saw the topic, so it’s stayed with me all these years!
 
2. Moulin Rouge (2001)  If you like Broadway musicals, like I do,  then you’ll like this one about a terminally ill star in turn of the century Paris.  Loved pretty much everything about this one.
 
3. The Apartment (1960)  This is a favorite of mine.  Shirley MacLaine’s character overdoses on sleeping pills and must stay in Jack Lemmon’s character’s apartment.  Funny and sad or sad and funny.  Either way it worked for me.
 
4. Erin Brockovich (2000)  Sort of a sad yet feel good movie about terminal illness.  There is someone to blame and they must pay!  If only all illness was so easy.
 
5. While You Were Sleeping (1995)  I know I list this one a lot, but it does fit this category perfectly since there would be no story unless a main character is in a coma.  And it’s an illness movie with no sad parts, not an easy feat!
 
So, do you have a favorite movie about an illness?  (Seems like a strange question, right?)
 
 
 
 

 

January 24, 2011 - Posted by | Monday Movie Meme | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Good ones! Moulin Rouge! I like that pick. Never seen The Apartment. Will check out some of these! Here are mine: http://gofita.blogspot.com/2011/01/monday-movie-meme-aches-and-pains-and.html

    Comment by Heather | January 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Loved The Apartment. It feels contemporary for an older film.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh – The Apartment! That was a goodie. And yet ANOTHER Shirley MacLaine feature. I could have made our entire list out of her movies alone it seems!

    Comment by Bumbles | January 24, 2011 | Reply

    • I was thinking of that when I added it to my list :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. Gee whiz, I was an old married woman when I saw Terms of Endearment. I cried like a baby too.

    Comment by bermudaonion | January 24, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m afraid to watch it again!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. I haven’t seen Terms of Endearment and I love movies that make me cry. I’ll keep it on my list to watch.

    Comment by VioletCrush | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • If you like movies that make you cry then you really need to see it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. I can’t quite remember the story in Moulin Rouge but I loved Erin Brockovich and While You Were Sleeping.

    Comment by Alice Teh | January 25, 2011 | Reply

    • She had a terminal illness.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply

  6. It has been weird reading all these posts … so many good movies have been made out of illness.

    Comment by Jenners | January 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Weird, huh?

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

