Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage – Where Did Mom and Dad Go?

This week Gage turned 3 months old!  People have said how fast the time has gone and I nod, but inside I’m thinking that this has been the longest three months of my life!  Three months of mothering a colicky baby takes its toll.  So, when my parents said they were  coming up for the weekend Jason and I decided to take advantage and spend our first night away from Gage. 

But where to go?  Not too far but still away and something vacation-like.  So, we ended up at Mario’s Spa & Hotel about 20 minutes away.  We kissed baby goodbye at 2pm yesterday and headed to our 3 o’clock side by side massages, after some time in the sauna.  I complimented this with a glass of wine.  Then we checked into the hotel and I went for a manicure.  Mario’s also had a great place for dinner and we took advantage.  And I indulged in more wine.  We were in bed by 8:30 and slept until 8:30 this morning.  We had breakfast brought to our room before heading off to another massage for Jason and Reflexology/Parafin Pedicure for me.  Oh, and a mimosa accompanied the pedicure.

Then we drove home feeling pampered and refreshed and ready for three more months of parenting.  How many phone calls did we make to check on Gage in the 24 hours we were gone?  Three.  But in our defense it is because he is the only one of us who has not gotten better from last week.  So, a call to the doctor in the morning and we’ll see if she can see him.

I think we both needed the mini-vacation and pampering and we were lucky enough to be able to do it.  It is easy to lose focus on each other and on yourself when a newborn demands all of your attention and it was nice to reconnect.  It was also great for me, who has spent three months being a mother to have 24 hours to be just me.  Motherhood is awesome, but a little time to focus on myself is going to make me a better mom for Gage.

Now, if I can just convince Jason that we should do this every month…

Here we are after dinner last night

January 23, 2011 Posted by | Gage | 33 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers