Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Quicksand, by Iris Johansen

Quicksand (Eve Duncan Series #8) by Iris Johansen: CD Audiobook CoverFinished audio on 1-10-11, rating 3/5, fiction, pub. 2008

Unabridged audio.  9 hours.  Read by Jennifer Van Dyck.

Book 8 of the Eve Duncan series.

Years ago Eve Duncan lost her daughter to a killer and the body and killer were never found.  As a nationally respected forensic sculptor Eve is in the unique position of being called on to help identify unidentified skulls so that other families do not have to suffer as she has.  Now she has a lead on who may have killed her daughter and her Atlanta policeman boyfriend Joe tracks him to Indiana with Eve on his tail.  Henry Kistle is for sure a pedophile, but is he also Bonnie’s killer, like he claims?  Eve brings in help from old friends and a new one, in the form of a spiritual listener from another Johansen novel.

I read the first few of this series many years ago and enjoyed them, but I wasn’t all that interested in this one.  Maybe I would have liked it more if I was caught up with the series, I don’t know.  Her boyfriend, who I liked earlier, was a jerk in this one.  And I found the bad guy pretty one-dimensional, nothing interesting about him.  The book was okay, but not one I’d recommend.

Jennifer Van Dyck had many voices for the multitude of characters, but some were more funny than they should have been.  The man from South America sounded Indian to me and maybe my dislike of the bad guy came from his annoying voice.  So, I don’t know if I would have like reading it better.  I think I might have since a few of the voices really turned me against the character.

I checked this audio book out of the library.

January 20, 2011 - Posted by | 3 Star Books |

6 Comments »

  1. I used to love Johansen’s work, but I think I read a different series than this one. It seems like the series I read had a character with a search and rescue dog.

    Comment by bermudaonion | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. I read her latest Eve Duncan novel a few months ago since I won it…it was hard to get through. Nothing special either. I like Kathy Reichs or Patricia Cornwell better for crime fiction.

    Comment by Heather | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. I never have read a book by this author, although I have heard of her. I’m sorry this one wasn’t better.

    Comment by Literary Feline | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. Too bad. I’ve not read much by this author but I think I didn’t expect much from her for some reason.

    Comment by Jenners | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. I returned an audio book to the library recently because the readers were ruining the story for me. They made the characters feel wooden and stupid.

    Comment by CeeCee | January 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. [...] Georgia  Quicksand by Iris Johansen [...]

    Pingback by Challenging Year « Stacy's Books | December 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

