Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

First and Last Quiz

This week I’m going to see if you can match up the first lines and last lines from 10 famous novels.  At least you can guess!!  Each correct match is worth 9 points and you ‘ll get an extra point if you can tell me what novel each correct match comes from.  Oh, and a special thanks to author Beth Hoffman for playing last week.  It’s the first time an answer to my quiz has participated :)

A few rules…No cheating.  No googling or looking at other commenter answers.  Yes, we’re going by the honor system…Your first answers will be the only ones accepted…Have fun!

 This round for every participant I have (the last 2 rounds there have been 34 different players each time)  I will put in a $ for a B&N gift card or a Babies R Us gift card for the winner. Even if you play only once you are eligible to win the second prize (something special I pick out) and you will be adding money to the kitty for the winner.  

You have until noon on Friday to submit your answers as a comment.  I do hide comments until I post the answers on Friday, so if your answers disappear that’s why.  Last week’s What Book is That? Quiz.  Current Leaderboard

FIRST LINES

1. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness…

2. It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.

3. Early in the spring of 1750, in the village of Juffure, four days upriver from the coast of The Gambia, West Africa, a manchild was born to Omoro and Binta Kinte.

4. Buck dd not read newspapers, or he would have known that trouble was brewing, not alone for himself, but for every tidewater dog, strong of muscle and with warm, long hair, from Puget Sound to San Diego.

5. IT is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.

6. Marley was dead, to begin with.

7. You don’t know about me without you have read a book called “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer,” but that ain’t no matter.

8. In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since.

9. I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice – not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God; I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.

10. “Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents,” grumbled Jo, lying on the rug.

LAST LINES

A. When the long winter nights come on and the wolves follow their meat into the lower valleys, he may be seen running at the head of the pack through the pale moonlight or glimmering borealis, leaping gigantic above his fellows, his great throat a-bellow as he sings a song of the younger world, which is the song of the pack.

B. And so, as Tiny Tim observed, God Bless Us, Every One!

C. O God-please give him back! I shall keep asking You.

D. With the Gardiners, they were always on the most intimate terms. Darcy, as well as Elizabeth, really loved them; and they were both ever sensible of the warmest gratitude towards the persons who, by bringing her into Derbyshire, had been the means of uniting them.

E. I feel that they do watch and guide, and I also feel that they join me in the hope that this story of our people can help alleviate the legacies of the fact that preponderantly the histories have been written by the winners.

F. “It is a far, far better thing I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go  to, than I have ever known.”

G. “Oh, my girls, however long you may live, I never can wish you a greater happiness than this!”

H. So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

I. But I reckon I got to light out for the Territory ahead of the rest, because Aunt Sally she’s going to adopt me and sivilize me and I can’t stand it. I been there before.

J. He loved Big Brother.

January 18, 2011 - Posted by | Quizzes | ,

31 Comments »

  1. 1 & F A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
    2 & J 1984 by George Orwell
    3 & E Roots by Alex Haley
    4 & A
    5 & D Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    6 & B A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
    7 & I The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
    8 & H The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald
    9 & C A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
    10& G Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

    Comment by Misha | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 99 points! Woo Hoo :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. I thought this would be easier than it is! Note that most of these are guesses.

    1 & F are from A Tale of Two Cities
    2 & J are from 1984
    3 & E
    4 & A
    5 & D are from a Jane Austen book – maybe Pride and Prejudice?
    6 & B are from A Christmas Carol
    7 & I are from Huckleberry Finn
    8 & C
    9 & H
    10 & G are from Little Women

    Comment by bermudaonion | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 78 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. 1 & E
    3 & H Roots???
    4 & A Call of the Wild???
    5 & D Pride & Predjudice :)
    6 & B A Christmas Carol
    7 & I Huck Finn or Tom Sawyer??
    10 & G Little Women

    This was so hard! There are 3 I am sure of and the others were educated guesses. I can’t even venture a guess on the rest.

    Comment by jennygirl | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 50 points! Pretty good for guesses :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. 1, F; A Tale of Two Cities
    2, J; 1984
    3, H; Roots
    4, A; The Call of the Wild
    5, D; Pride and Prejudice
    6, B; A Christmas Carol
    7, I; The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    8, E; The Great Gatsby
    9, C; A Prayer for Owen Meany
    10, G; Little Women

    Comment by Word Lily | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • So close! 80 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. 1. F – A Tale of Two Cities
    2.
    3. E – Roots
    4. A – Call of the Wild
    5. D – Pride and Prejudice
    6. B – A Christmas Carol
    7. I – Huck Finn
    8.
    9. A Prayer for Owen Meany
    10. G – Little Women

    This was tough! Best I can do.

    Comment by Kay | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 70 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  6. Toughie made a bit easier with the match game component – thanks! Here are my best guesses and the title to match the option that I am most certain it goes with. Hope you and the family have recovered from your sick days…

    1 (A Tale of Two Cities) & F
    2 & J (1984)
    3 & E
    4 (Call of the Wild) & A
    5 & D (Pride & Prejudice)
    6 & B (A Christmas Carol)
    7 (The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn) & I
    8 & H
    9 (A Prayer For Owen Meany) & C
    10 (Little Women) & G

    Comment by Bumbles | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • I’d say 98 points is pretty good! My parents arrived this morning so I have a weekend of recovery :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  7. Awesome idea for a quiz! Not just because it was a good one for me : )

    1) F – A Tale of Two Cities – Dickens
    2) J – 1984 (hated this book)George Orwell
    3 E – Roots (blanking on the author)
    4) A – Call of the Wild – Jack London
    5) D – Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
    6) B – A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
    7) I – The Adventures of Huck Finn – Mark Twain
    8) H – all that is left over no idea of book
    9) C -A Prayer for Owen Meaney – Irving (excellent book, liked Garp better tho)
    10)G – Little Women (Love the books and the movies) Alcot

    Comment by Jennifer Rayment | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 99 points!! I’m reading Owen Meany right now.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  8. 1. F. A Tale of Two Cities
    5. D. Pride and Prejudice
    6. B. A Christmas Carol
    7. I. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    8. H. The Great Gatsby
    9. C A Prayer for Owen Meany
    10. G. Little Women

    Comment by pinkflipflops | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • 70 points!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  9. Oh, I like this one!

    1 & F A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
    5 & D Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    6 & B A Christmas Story by Charles Dickens
    7 & I Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
    10 & G Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

    Comment by StephanieD | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Glad to make you happy :) 50 points.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. Genius idea for a quiz!!! You’re brilliant at this you know.

    Comment by Jenners | January 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Then why aren’t you playing?! :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 18, 2011 | Reply

  11. 1. F. A Tale of Two Cities
    2. J. 1984
    3. E. Roots
    4. A The Call of the Wild
    5. D. Pride and Prejudice
    6. B. A Christmas Carol
    7. I. Huckleberry Finn
    8. H. The Great Gatsby
    9. C. A Prayer For Owen Meany
    10. G. Little Women

    Comment by Nise' | January 19, 2011 | Reply

    • A perfect 100! Another impressive week :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  12. Some guesses, and some I THINK I might actually know :-):

    1 and F – A Tale of Two Cities
    2 and J – 1984
    3 and E – Roots
    4 and A (this is a total guess – don’t know the book! The Call of the Wild, maybe?)
    5 and D – Pride and Prejudice
    6 and B – A Christmas Carol
    7 and I – The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    8 and H – The Great Gatsby
    9 and C – A Prayer for Owen Meany
    10 and G – Little Women

    Comment by Florinda | January 19, 2011 | Reply

    • 100 points, a perfect score! Woo Hoo! Keeping you grip on the led :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  13. 1/F: A Tale of Two Cities
    3 : Roots
    5/D: Pride and Prejudice
    6/B: A Christmas Carol
    7/I: The Adventures Of Huckleberry Finn
    8/H: The Great Gatsby
    10/G: Little Women

    Surprised at how many I was able to guess!

    Comment by Calila | January 19, 2011 | Reply

    • 60 points for you :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  14. 1 & F – A Tale of Two Cities (or something like that! this one is killing me!)
    2 & J – 1984
    3 & E – Roots (?)
    4 & A – Call of the Wild (?)
    5 & D – Pride and Prejudice
    6 & B – A Christmas Carol
    7 & I – The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    8 & H
    9 & C – A Prayer for Owen Meany
    10 & G – Little Women

    Comment by softdrink | January 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Woo Hoo! 99 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  15. God! I am never going to even guess one :(

    Comment by Veens | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  16. i’m not so sure about some guesses :)

    1. F. A Tale of Two Cities
    2. J. 1984
    3. E. Roots
    4. A The Call of the Wild
    5. D. Pride and Prejudice
    6. B. A Christmas Carol
    7. I. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    8. H. The Great Gatsby
    9. C. A Prayer For Owen Meany
    10. G. Little Women

    Comment by Mariska | January 20, 2011 | Reply

    • A perfect score, Mariska :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

