Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Snow Globe, by Sheila Roberts

The Snow Globe by Sheila Roberts: Book CoverFinished 1-1-11, rating 4/5, fiction, 166 pages, pub. 2010

“So she sent it off with a hope and a prayer that the snow globe will work a holiday  miracle for someone new.”  He cocked an eyebrow.  Would you say you qualify?”

No boyfriend, no job?  “I’d say I’m overqualified.”  Kiley looked at the little globe sitting on its ornate base.  Costly as it was, she was sure it was underpriced.  Even if it had gone for a small fortune at some fancy auction house it probably would have been underpriced.  It symbolized hope, and how did you put a price tag on hope?

Chapter 1

Kiley walks into an antique shop when on vacation with her girlfriends and walks out the proud owner of a magical snow globe.  This snow globe has been passed down from one generation to the next by its maker so that they would see their future.  Kiley shakes it and sees a toy store with a man standing at the door.  When she tracks down the toy store there is, in fact, a man there, and a good-looking one at that.   Kiley gave it to Suzanne next who did not believe in the miracle snow globe until the wife and mother not only got a miracle but she learned a little about herself on the process.  Last of the friends to receive the globe was Allison and she was a believer until months went by with nothing to show for it.

I thought Kiley and Suzanne’s stories were great.  All three of the friends was expertly drawn for the reader, surprising in such a short book.  I was entertained and drawn in for the few hours I sat down with this one.  Only Allison’s story left me unimpressed.  For some reason I just couldn’t make myself care about it.

I accepted this from the publicist because I loved the cover.  It is actually more pretty when it’s in your hands and if you combine that with its sweet story you have a perfect gift.  It doesn’t have to be Christmas.  As long as there is snow outside I think this would be a great gift.  I”m not a big reader of Christmas fiction, but this one convinced me that I will definitely be reading Sheila Roberts again.

January 6, 2011 Posted by | 4 Star Books | | 8 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers