Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Put on Your Crown: Life-Changing Moments on the Path to Queendom, by Queen Latifah

Put on Your Crown by Queen Latifah: CD Audiobook CoverFinished unabridged audio on 12-1-10, rating 3.5/5, inspirational for girls, pub. 2010

Read by Queen Latifah, with her mother Rita Owens

Queen Latifah has always seemed like a genuine and charming person to me.  I’m not really familiar with her music, but I do like to watch her on the big screen.  I even remember her from the 1990′s TV show, Living Single. So, I was very happy to win this audiobook from Zia.  I really like when authors read their work and I enjoyed listening to her tell her story.  Her mother also reads a small portion of the book.

Queen Latifah, real name Dana Evans, has led a life full of ups and downs and still managed to come out on top full of confidence and spirit.  This book is all about helping girls and young women find the confidence to be bold and brave and smart.  She does not claim to be perfect, far from it, she admits mistakes.  I think girls, especially those who like her and those who need the courage not to follow the crowd will really benefit from listening to this.  It is inspirational. 

I was not the target audience but I did enjoy it and Queen Latifah still seems like a genuine and charming person.  I am giving away this unabridged audiobook this month, you only need to be the first one to comment on this post and request it.

December 8, 2010 Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books | | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers