Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage- The Chocolate Diet

I gained 45 pounds during my pregnancy and Gage was just over two weeks early so who knows how many more pounds I may have managed to pack on if we’d delivered on time?  My doctor told me to gain 25-30 pounds.  Whatever.  I knew that wasn’t going to happen and promised myself I wouldn’t obsess over it.  So I didn’t.  Here’s what I looked like a week and a half before Gage arrived.  My chin and neck had gone awol my ankles looked like thighs and I went from a size 7 shoe to an 8 1/2!  Yikes.  So when I got home from the hospital I was wondering what I would weigh.  I’d lost a lot of blood and other gunk during the c-section and Gage had been six pounds, so I was hoping for s significant loss.  I got on the scale five days after birth and…I lost six pounds.  What?!  Are you kidding me?  Needless to say I was disappointed, but I was recovering from days of being pumped full of drugs and a c-section so I had other things to worry about.  Oh yeah, and a newborn to feed, diaper, and love.

I gladly ate all of the chocolate that any friend brought me and went through more than one bag of Halloween candy bars and stepped on the scale two weeks after birth and…I’d lost 23 pounds!!  Soon after that my ankles showed themselves again and I can now fit into my pre-pregnancy shoes again.  I actually felt light enough on my feet to wear my 4 inch shoes on my date with Jason last weekend. 

I promised myself during pregnancy that I would join Weight Watchers Online come January to lose the baby weight and that’s still the plan, but until then bring on the chocolate, and mashed potatoes with gravy, and apple pie, and holiday cookies, and wine…

November 21, 2010 - Posted by | Pregnancy |

30 Comments »

  1. I think you look fantastic in your new profile picture! What a beautiful family.

    Comment by bermudaonion | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Kathy!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Be easy on yourself … I remember after giving birth that my ankles were HUGE and I couldn’t fit in the shoes I had brought to the hospital. It does come off eventually … it is the whole toning part that is hard. 6 years in and I’m still working on that.

    Comment by Jenners | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • When I start worrying about toning that will be a good day. I’ve still got the tape on my stitches/scar!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. It always make sense to enjoy the family time the holidays bring. You have a great start already without too much worry.

    Comment by Nicole | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I love the holidays. We’ll see how Gage does with travel and meeting so many new people.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. You look great Stacy! Enjoy these moments with baby Gage and the wine and chocolate:)

    Comment by Bonnie | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • You should come join us!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. You must have been very thin pre-pregnancy as in the photos posted you look great. You husband is so thin — lucky guy.

    Comment by Bibliophile By the Sea | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • My husband and his whole family are thin. I had just lost 20 pounds before I got pregnant so that’s about where I am right now.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. I like that – eating Halloween candy and losing 20 pounds! It must be nice to have your ankles back. The things you do for love :0)

    Comment by Bumbles | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Last week when we had our date I kept admiring my ankes because I hadn’t been sure I’d ever see them again!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. Yes, you look fantastic!! I don’t think there is anything to worry! It’s been 7 months and I have still not done anything about the weight I have gained, I promise myself it is the nxt month, but tat never happens :(

    I gained 15 Kgs, and I have no idea, how I am going to lose this weight :(

    Comment by givingreadingachance | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • It’ll happen. I think most new moms go through it, so we’re not alone!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. You look so cute in that picture. I guess when Gage starts crawling, you’ll automatically loose weight running around him :)

    Comment by VioletCrush | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Let’s hope so!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. Funny, I’ve been on the chocolate diet since, oh, forever, and I’ve yet to lose any pounds on it, let alone 23!!! Great job!

    Comment by StephanieD | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Try having a baby first ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. Glad you are feeling better. That chocolate does help:)

    Comment by Book Bird Dog | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  11. I wouldnt worry about it. Especially if your breast feeding. I dropped 8kg in the first week which suprised me as I was eating like a pig!

    Everyone gave us chocolates too and I swear we ate 4kg of the stuff all up.

    At the moment all you need to worry about is keeping that cute bubba happy. You have plenty of time to obsess over and loose weight later. Enjoy having the luxury of being a slob most of the time :) I know I did!

    Comment by Caspette | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  12. I can bring you my e-hugs!
    :D

    Comment by gautami tripathy | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  13. congrats on gage…i had the same experience with thinking i would’ve lost more weight…well, the end result is worth it but baby weight was hard…and breastfeeding was not the magical result that i had heard about!

    Comment by diana | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. Hmmmm, maybe I should try it! Love the family picture.

    Comment by Nise' | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  15. Sounds like the perfect diet to me. Just enjoy this time in your life. I think that’s what you are saying in your last paragraph. This is the only time you’ll get to be a new mom and you’ll look back on this time for the rest of your life – with fondness. Twenty years from now I doubt you’ll remember what you weighed.

    Comment by Margot | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  16. Wow, Stacy! Congratulations! A wee six pounds! He’s adorable. Thanks for sharing your pregnancy. I love the name Gage. You look great in your about-to-give-birth photo!!!! I gained like 50 pounds with my wee one and I’m down below pre-pregnancy weight after almost two years…so don’t stress too much about the weight. You’re gorgeous and congrats again! Wishing you and your family happy holidays!

    Comment by Heather | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  17. Don’t stress too much over that baby weight and enjoy this time because January will come all too soon!!

    Comment by Staci | November 24, 2010 | Reply

  18. Ohhhh, you had your baby! Praise God you and Gage, (and dad) are happy and healthy. I feel you look MAHVELOUS! Maybe I’ll join weight watchers with you in January.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Comment by CeeCee | November 24, 2010 | Reply

  19. This post of yours made smile and smile and smile. Love that picture too!

    Comment by Alice Teh | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  20. ;) I’m hopipng my new food semi-healthy eating habits while pregnant will stick when I have a newborn. And I am thinking they will as long as I keep apples/strawberries/carrots around! I would much rather just grab and go healthy easy stuff than eat a meal. But I also get my fair share of treats in. I am down 7 pounds and haven’t gained anything yet this pregnancy so I am thinking that my eating is fine. Can’t wait to add on about 20 more in the next 25 weeks haha.

    Comment by pinkflipflops | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  21. Sweetie I think you look fine. 45 lbs is not bad, I think that is probably average but most people don’t want to admit it. Just watch yourself over the holidays and in January do the WW thing. Exercise too is always good. Makes you feel good and helps wioth the weight loss.

    Comment by jennygirl | December 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

