Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Monday-ish Movie Meme – John Hughes

Feature Presentation…MONDAY MOVIE MEME
Visit the Bumbles for more John Hughes fun.
This week’s movie topic is all about John Hughes…
This week’s topic is all about the films of the late John Hughes. Admit it. Once upon a time (in your life), you were bitten by the John Hughes bug. I haven’t seen all of his movies, but those I saw still beat those chick flicks running around these days. Show how much you love John Hughes’ movies by answering this:
 
John Hughes… How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

Being a gal of the 80′s I couldn’t pass this one up – even if I’m late!

1.Planes, Trains, & Automobiles (1987).  He wrote, directed, and produced.

waking up after sharing the same bed on the motel]
Neal: Del… Why did you kiss my ear?
Del: Why are you holding my hand?
Neal: [frowns] Where’s your other hand?
Del: Between two pillows…
Neal: Those aren’t pillows!

2.The Breakfast Club (1985). He wrote & directed.  Iconic movie with music that always takes me back to the 80′s!

3.Sixteen Candles (1984). Wrote & Directed.

4.Pretty in Pink (1986).  Wrote screenplay.  I love this movie and soundtrack.

5.Some Kind of Wonderful (1987)  Wrote screenplay.  I’ve included a few bookish quotes from the movie.

Keith Nelson: You can’t tell a book by its cover.
Watts: No, but you can tell how much it’s gonna cost you.
Keith Nelson: Wow, I never knew you were so deep.
Watts: You want shallow, call Amanda Jones.

Watts: It must be a drag to be a slave to the male sex drive.
Keith: It’s not just sex.
Watts: Oh, you want to start a book club with her?

I’m limiting myself to 5 or this post would be way too long!  Do you have a favorite John Hughes movie?

August 20, 2010 - Posted by | Monday Movie Meme | ,

18 Comments »

  1. Those movies certainly do define the 80′s!

    Comment by bermudaonion | August 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sixteen Candles was Andy’s first choice – which surprised me in a way. Maybe he identified with the King of the Dipshits ;0)

    Comment by Bumble | August 20, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s one of my favorites too. Good for Andy :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. I like the first one! I sound like a broken record but I haven’t watched any of them. Argghhh…

    Comment by Alice Teh | August 21, 2010 | Reply

    • There are too many movies and books to see them all! You should definitely see any one of them though :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. It is hard to believe how many awesome movies he made!

    Comment by Jenners | August 21, 2010 | Reply

    • He had an amazing run.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh Great, I have never seen a movie of his! I definitely need to see them!

    Comment by Veens | August 22, 2010 | Reply

    • You really must!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  6. I still love Sixteen Candles! Watch it everytime its on. Other favorites are Ferris Buller’s Day Off, Uncle Buck, my boys love the Home Alone movies. I think my brother knows all the lines from The Breakfast Club.

    Comment by Nise' | August 22, 2010 | Reply

    • For a long time I knew all the lines to The Breakfast Club, now I think I could get over half for sure!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hi, Stacy!

    I love all of these movies and you totally took me back to my childhood. That scene from PTA is my favorite, by the way. Hilarious! I recently saw a preview for a new movie with Robert Downey Jr. that smacks of PTA. But nothing can match the original.

    Comment by StephanieD | August 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I think I saw that same preview. There was a dog? Thought it looked funny. I love PTA and it never gets old. I love this scene and the car rental scene the most.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  8. He was a major impact on my teens! I loved this scene and Ducky is just perfect!!! We watch Planes, Trains, and Automobiles every Thanksgiving..quite the tradition F-bombs and all…that scene at the car rental just makes me holler. I miss John Candy!

    Comment by Staci | August 23, 2010 | Reply

    • I totally love that scene and really most of the others. My favorite John Candy movie and I just love Steve Martin.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  9. I loved The Breakfast Club, but I think that’s the only one on your list I’ve seen.

    Comment by Carol | August 24, 2010 | Reply

    • What?! No Sixteen Candles? I think the two go hand in hand.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  10. 16 Candles, Ferris Bueller really I could go on and on.
    he was amazing and captured the 80′s perfectly. What a talent that will be misssed :(

    Comment by jennygirl | August 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

