Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Burning Wire, by Jeffery Deaver

The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme Series #9) by Jeffery Deaver: Book CoverFinished 7-21-10, rating 3.5/5, Mystery, pub. 2010

Book 9 in the Lincoln Rhyme series (1st-The Bone Collector, 2nd- The Coffin Dancer, 3rd- The Empty Chair, 4th- The Stone Monkey, 5th- The Vanished Man, 6th- The Twelfth Card, 7th- The Cold Moon, 8th- The Broken Window)

Since Kopeski worked for a disability rights organization Rhyme’s condition was nothing to him.  An attitude that Rhyme approved of.  He believed that we were all disabled in one way or another, ranging from emotional scar tissue to arthritis to Lou Gehrig’s disease.  Life was  one big disability; the question was simple: What did we do about it? Rhyme rarely dwelt on the subject.  He’d never been  an advocate for disabled rights; that struck him as a diversion from his job.  He was a criminalist who happened to be able to move with less facility than most.  He compensated as best he could and got on with his work.

Chapter 21

Forensic Criminologist and quadriplegic Lincoln Rhyme and his team are working on two cases at once.  There is a potential terrorist attack using New York City’s electricity as a weapon and there is the ever elusive Watchmaker who has been taunting Lincoln for more than a year.  And Lincoln has a visit from a group who specializes in helping people die with dignity, something he has considered in the past.

I love this series, but this may be my least favorite.  There was way too much information about electricity and how it is harnessed and used in the beginning of the book.  I actually started the book and put it down for a week, something I don’t remember ever doing with this series.  Once the overabundance of information tapered off the story became much more fun and fast paced. 

I did enjoy the extra storyline with FBI agent Fred Dellray.  He hasn’t had a big story lately and it was great to see him back on the prowl and making tough choices.  And Ron Pulaski had a great storyline too.  So these combined with Lincoln’s consideration of assisted death made great storylines and I loved them.  It was only all the electricity stuff that slowed down the story for me.

Love the series - start at the beginning!

This is from my personal library.

July 28, 2010 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

12 Comments »

  1. I have read the series until 5th. Have too look out for the others. Don’t know why I have been slacking!

    Comment by gautami tripathy | July 28, 2010 | Reply

    • There are only a few series that I am completely caught up on. It’s tough when you have a lot of good ones to choose from :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. I read the first few in the series but then quick. I don’t even remember why no. I may have to pick it back up.

    Comment by Carol | July 28, 2010 | Reply

    • I love them, but maybe it just didn’t grab you.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. I need to try this series. There’s a weak book in every series, and even though it sounds like this is it for this series, the book sounds interesting.

    Comment by bermudaonion | July 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Each of his book has a different focus and I always end up learning something new, but electricity was beyond me ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. I like the plot you described. It sounds like it could be a good thriller. I guess I just have to skip past the electrical stuff at the beginning.

    Comment by Margot | July 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Unless you want to learn scary details about how to use it as a weapon!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’ve been meaning to start at the beginning forever!!!!!!!!! When will I ever find the time to read all the books I want to??? :D

    Comment by Staci | July 28, 2010 | Reply

    • NEVER!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. I need to start reading the series now. I have just read one book by Jeffrey Deaver. Thanks for the review!

    I just started my own blog. Please stop by if you can. Thank you

    Misha
    http://books-love-affair.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Misha Mathew | July 30, 2010 | Reply

  7. A long, long time ago I read 1 or 2 in this series (not in order either – shame) and really liked them. I have several on my TBR Shelves but just haven’t picked one up yet. I am looking forward to them though. I’m happy to see that you are still enjoying them.

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | August 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

