Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Fave Film #29 – Four Weddings and a Funeral

Four weddings poster.jpg1994

Cast Hugh Grant, Andie MacDowell, Kristin Scott Thomas, John Hannah, Rowan Atkinson

Hugh Grant won Golden Globe for Best Actor

Charles (Hugh Grant) and his circle of friends spend a lot of time attending weddings.  In the first wedding Charles is the best man who forgets the rings.  In the second wedding three months later the priest (Rowan Atkinson) has a few problems conducting his first wedding ceremony. The third wedding is one that breaks the hearts of them all by leading to the funeral a few days later.  The last wedding is a shocker, but, as always, funny.

Why I Love It - This British comedy has an outstanding cast, not all of whom I was familiar with, and the humor is sometimes more subtle than in-your-face.  You really have to pay attention to appreciate all of the details.  Hugh Grant is the core of the movie and if you find him charming like I do, I think you’ll like it too.  The dialogue and directing was superb and I only mention it because it does get compared to Love, Actually (Same director and Hugh Grant), but I like this one better because although I love all the characters the movie revolves around one storyline, making it easier for me to care.

I love that it revolves around weddings.  There are no day-to-day jobs (I don’t even know what Charles did for a living) and yet I grew to know and love each of the characters.

I watched this again last night after having lunch with ladies that included a friend who is British and one who is Canadian and we had a fun time discussing swear words in each of the countries.  We laughed a lot and this movie continued the fun.  Oh, and you know I love hats and there were some classic ones here.

Here’s the trailer if you haven’t seen it…

June 25, 2010 - Posted by | movies |

24 Comments »

  1. I really liked this movie, too. I haven’t seen it in ages, though.

    Comment by diaryofaneccentric | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. For some reason I’ve never seen this movie, but now I will. Thanks for the recommendation, Stacy!

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • I hope you like it!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. I still have not seen this movie, though everyone seems to love it, and it has been recommended for a long time. I usually love Hugh Grant movies.

    Comment by Nicole | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • If you like Grant, you really have to check it out.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. Love this movie! This was when Hugh Grant’s quirky charms still seemed fresh and unstudied. The odd characters though are what make this superb.

    Comment by StephanieD | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree about Grant. This is really the first time I remember seeing him onscreen and I thought he was refreshing. The cast of characters are better every time I see the movie!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. Very good choice and I love Grant in this one!

    Comment by Staci | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • He’s a cutie :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’ve never seen this movie, but I do like Hugh Grant!

    Comment by bermudaonion | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Well, then I hope this will make you check it out :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hooray, this is one of my all-time favourite movies, too!

    Comment by Tiny Librarian | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • We must have excellent taste ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. Why have I never seen this? I can’t imagine and I love both Hugh Grant and Andi MacDowell. Love, Actually is one of my very, very favorite movies of all time. Hmmm…think this one will be a good pick for my husband’s next business trip. That’s when I watch a slew of me,me,me movies!

    Comment by Kay | June 25, 2010 | Reply

    • If you love the actors this movie is a definite must for you!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love this one too. You know, when it comes to books, my favorites are those with good characters. It’s the same with movies. The characters in Love Actually didn’t grab me the way this one did.

    Comment by Margot | June 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree with you about the characters. I was trying to say that in my review, but you said it way better than I did :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  10. Love your overview of this movie! I remember the first time I saw it and fell completely in love with Hugh Grant. As I recall, his first dialog in this movie is the ef-word, over and over, and yet, from him, it was charming. And he quoted The Partridge Family to her! Sigh.

    Comment by The Gal Herself | June 26, 2010 | Reply

    • The swearing made me laugh, which is not something that happens in most movies!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  11. Oh … this takes me back! And back then, I didn’t know Kristin Scott Thomas or Rowan Atkinson … but now I can’t totally picture both of them in this film. Great choice!

    Comment by Jenners | June 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I think this was the first time I’d seen either of them too.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  12. This is one of my favorites too. I came to love it the more I watched it. Whenever it is on TV I always watch it, which is crazy ’cause I own the DVD and can watch it anytime!

    Comment by Nise' | June 26, 2010 | Reply

  13. It’s been so long since I saw this one…I need to revisit. I love Andie McDowell and she doesn’t make nearly enough movies. And, of course, Hugh Grant is wonderful in it.

    Comment by Susan | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  14. It took me the longest time to see this movie. And I was so glad I finally did. Excellent film.

    Comment by jennygirl | June 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

