Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Die Trying, by Lee Child

Die Trying (Jack Reacher Series #2) by Lee Child: Book CoverFinished 6-14-10, rating 4.5/5, thriller, pub. 1998

This is book 2 in the Jack Reacher series (Book 1)

Jack Reacher is an ex-MP who is aimlessly travelling around the country after 13 years serving in the military and he happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.  The place is Chicago and the time is when FBI agent Holly Johnson, a woman with secrets and family in the highest of high places, is snatched off the street.  When they realize they are being kidnapped by a crazy militia in Montana they are sure they will be rescued, but as time goes on and the craziness seems even crazier Jack realizes it is up to him to get them out of there.  The rescue that should have come is delayed by the President and his chief of staff due to politics and it’s enough to make you mad (as most political things tend to do to me).

Jack Reacher is a man’s man, but one that women are drawn to because of his sheer masculinity and unavailability.  He is who he is, take him or leave him and that confidence and physical presence makes him a force to be reckoned with.  When I read the first Jack Reacher I said I was unsure about him because I didn’t know where he drew the line at right and wrong and this book helped clarify that for me.  He’s a tough guy and one easy to like.

I liked this one even better than the first.  It is still gritty and grisly, but not quite as much as the first.  I am looking forward to more Jack!

This is from my personal library.

June 17, 2010 Posted by | 4 1/2 Star Books | | 16 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers