Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Monday Movie Meme – Party Animals

Feature Presentation…MONDAY MOVIE MEME
 
This week is all about  movies that focus on parties.  I had a hard time coming up with the traditional wild & crazy parties, but managed to come up with a pretty good list, I think.
Check out The Bumbles for other participants.
 
1. The Ref (1994)  This family holiday dinner party is my favorite ever.  Denis Leary as Dr. Wong and Judy Davis with her Scandinavian Christmas was a riot.  A great quote -
I have never heard of such a Christmas: sex, and drugs, and, and, and, and women being set on fire.

2. Four Weddings & a Funeral (1994) Wedding receptions are parties, so this great British movie had plenty of partying!  Loved the cast and the humor.  Here’s a quote from Hugh Grant’s character that sums up his wedding reception luck - I seem to be stuck in the wedding from hell, ghosts of girlfriends past at every turn. Next thing I’ll bump into Henrietta and the nightmare will be complete.

3. Meet the Parents (2000) There were many funny parts in this one, but when the family goes to Kevin’s house for a barbecue and water volleyball I laughed at Ben Stiller’s little Speedo and his hand in ruining the bride before her wedding. 

4. Footloose (1984) The movie was a fight between the teenagers and parents of a small town to allow dancing at the Prom.  Loved this as a teen, but didn’t realize until just recently that it is actually based on a real story!  John Lithgow’s character was a real fun guy - Even if this was not a law, which it is, I’m afraid I would have a lot of difficulty endorsing an enterprise which is as fraught with genuine peril as I believe this one to be. Besides the liquor and the drugs which always seem to accompany such an event the thing that distresses me even more, Ren, is the spiritual corruption that can be involved. These dances and this kind of music can be destructive, and, uh, Ren, I’m afraid you’re going to find most of the people in our community are gonna agree with me on this.

5. Old School (2003) This isn’t a favorite of mine, but it did come to mind when thinking of parties.  This ragtag team of losers decides to form a fraternity.  Hijinks ensue.  Vince Vaughn’s character has this to say – You think I like avoiding my wife and kids to hangout with nineteen year old girls everyday?

 
So, do you have a favorite movie focused on a party?

May 3, 2010 Posted by | Monday Movie Meme | | 18 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers