Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Shining, by Stephen King

The Shining by Stephen King: CD Audiobook CoverFinished audio 3-24-10, rating 4/5, horror, pub. 1977

Jack and Wendy take their son to the Overlook Hotel for the winter.  They are the caretakers, and only inhabitants, of this sprawling hotel set in the Rocky Mountains and they are completely cut off from the rest of the world as the snow strands them there.  The hotel has a colorful past and present and the ‘ghosts’ in the Overlook want little Danny because he has the shine and they drive Jack insane to get to Danny.  Can the love of a mother save her son or will Danny fall victim to the evil that surrounds him? 

I don’t know how I made it to age 38 without reading this or seeing the movie.  As a matter of fact I knew next to nothing about it except for the clip of crazy Jack Nicholson that most of us have seen at one time or another.  I have to admit that even with that picture in my head that is not how I saw the dad in this book.  Guess I’ll have to watch the movie now.

I liked this one.  It was suspenseful and I was even surprised at the end.  Stephen King knows how to tell a good story and this one was very good.

I checked this audio book out from the library and it was skillfully read by actor Campbell Scott.

March 24, 2010 - Posted by | 4 Star Books |

19 Comments »

  1. I don’t do well with horror written and don’t think I could handle it on audio. It would be much more graphic for me that way.

    Comment by bermudaonion | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. Interesting review, I haven’t read the book but I absolutely loved the movie. You must see it!

    Comment by Dominique | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. The Shining is very good isn’t it? It’s been who knows how many years since I read it. Too many to count. And I still remember Redrum, Redrum, Redrum! The movie was good, although I had a hard time with Shelley Duvall playing the wife. And that was before her Faerie Tale Theatre days. Jack Nicholson does a good crazy, but he never quite fit the dad for me. It’s hard to take Stephen King’s horror and translate it adequately to the screen.

    Comment by Kay | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have not read the book, but the movie was great! Very creepy!

    Comment by Melody | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. Well I agree with Bermuda – I don’t think I could listen to this book. Then again, reading it was so scary maybe listening to it would have taken some of the edge off? The movie is incredibly different – but very good too.

    Comment by Bumbles | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  6. I haven’t read the book either but the movie scares me just remembering it, and I saw it quite a few years ago!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. I haven’t read The Shining or seen the movie either! Nice review, I think I’ll give it a try. My husband always says SK can really tell a great story.
    Have you ever read Rosemary’s Baby? I read it really fast one summer. I have no interest in the movie, but the book was strangely compelling…

    Comment by candice | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. This book is on my Wishlist, I really want to read more books by Stephen King. Glad you liked it.

    Comment by Violet | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m 33 and I still haven’t read this one! Need to rectify this. I borrowed the book from my sister eons ago.

    Comment by Alice Teh | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  10. I have read us one book byt his author and that one did not impress me, really. But I saw one movie based on his book – 1408 – which was scary and I liked it.
    So I am not sure yet. Maybe I should give this one a try ;)

    Comment by Veens | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  11. I saw the movie with jackie boy back in the day on TV and ended up not being able to sleep alone for a week. While I admit King is a master storyteller he scares the begeebies out of me and therefore cannot read any of his books!!! Great review!

    Comment by Heather | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  12. This is one of the few King books that I’ve read and enjoyed.

    Comment by Carol | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  13. King is definitely not for me but I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Comment by Margot | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  14. I’ve never seen this movie or read the book. Or anything by Stephen King, for that matter. I’m far too much of a chicken! The Historian gave me nightmares. For real. So I have to take the word of brave folks like yourself that it’s a good read/listen :)

    Comment by alitareads | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  15. This movie still scares the crap out of me. redrum baby redrum. Never read the book though. I got a bit burned out on King. Nice review.

    Comment by jennygirl | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  16. I do think Stephen King doesn’t get enough credit … he does tell a good story.

    Comment by Jenners | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  17. I’ve read several of King’s novels; I liked a few, was “meh” about most, but this is far and away my favorite!

    Comment by Kirsten | April 8, 2010 | Reply

  18. [...] 7. The Shining, by Stephen King – Listened to the audio of this one in March. My review here. 8. And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie 9. The Hunt tor Red October, by Tom Clancy – [...]

    Pingback by NPR’s top 100 Killer Thrillers « Stacy's Books | August 7, 2010 | Reply

  19. [...] a new semi-regular feature.  I listened to the audio book of The Shining by Stephen King in 2010 (post here) watched the 1980 movie last month (post here).  Let’s break down how they [...]

    Pingback by Book vs. Movie- The Shining « Stacy's Books | November 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

