Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

War & Peace by Tolstoy

Molly and I are reading War & Peace.  It may take awhile, but we’ll be posting every Thursday until we’re done.  I’d love to be able to tweet the first part of Volume 1, but you are stuck with a somewhat more traditional post.

So, what’s War & Peace about anyway?  Napoleon is taking over the world and it will only be a matter of time before he invades Russia.  This is the story of five aristocratic Russian families during those turbulent years from 1805-1813. 

Who’s the main character?  This is about a multitude of people, but mainly about members from five families.  Here’s my scoop on the main players…Bulonskys- The Old Prince was a general in earlier wars and he has two children, Andrei and Maria.  Rostovs- Loving family with four adolescent children and never enough money.  Drubetskoys- Poor mother and her son.  Bezukhovs- A dying count,  many illegitimate children and a greedy extended family.  Kuragins- They seem sketchy, but it’s too early to tell.

What happens in Part 1?  There’s a party in Petersburg for the titled and wealthy where we meet several key players from the Bezukhovs and Kuragins.  Then we move on to Moscow to a party at the Rostovs and a death watch at the Bezukhovs.  And finally we end up in Bald Hills where the Bolkonskys live and the young Prince has brought his pregnant bride.

Is it confusing?  Yes, especially at first.  There are a lot of people with similar names. Who knew there were so many princes?  And there is quite a bit of French (of the 1215 pages, 2% is in French) that is translated at the bottom of the page and there are 53 references to the Notes in the back of the book just in part one.  So there’s lots of flipping.  But as the story gets moving and some of the people become more recognizable it becomes easier to read.  Just a small learning curve :)

Is it boring?  No!  I was never bored and I was interested in all of the characters and how they all fit together.  I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it.

Prince Andrei Nikolayevich Bolkonsky…We meet the little Prince at the Petersburg party where he expresses his dislike of his wife and his friendship for Pierre.  Here’s his first physical description…”of medium height, a rather handsome young man with well-defined and dry features.”   And this is our first taste of his personality at that party “he not only knew everyone in the drawing room, but was also  so sick of them that it was very boring, the face of his pretty wife seemed to be the one he was most sick of.”  He is fed up with society (and his wife), finding it empty.  He takes a position in the military and on his way to war he takes his pregnant wife to his father and sister in Bald Hills.  He is very unhappy, but he is smart and insightful.  I like him.

A little about Natasha Rostov…We meet the precocious 13-year-old at the party held in honor of her name day, which she shares with her mother.  This is her first description…”dark-eyed, big-mouthed, not beautiful, but lively girl.” and this is a description her personality, “inconceivable boldness and adroitness…both smart and pert”  She is in love with Boris Drubetskoy.  She is charming and comes from a very close-knit and supportive family.  I can’t help but like her.

A very little about Princess Maria Bolkonsky… We first meet Marie when her brother brings his pregnant wife to the family estate where she lives with her overbearing father.  A few words that were used to describe her or her actions…timid, fearful, sickly, unattractive, sad, frightened.  I know she is scared of her father, her best friend is Julie Karagin, she loves her brother, and she is very religious.  I feel more sorry for her than anything, but I don’t know her very well yet.

I’m having a good time with Tolstoy so far.  Want to know what Molly thinks and meet the characters she’s hanging out with?  Click on over… She covering overweight Pierre (seriously, it’s mentioned just as often as he is!), jealous Sonya, handsome Prince Nikolai, and beautiful Helene.

February 18, 2010 - Posted by | War and Peace | , ,

35 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a heavy read to me… plus the great cast of characters and those names, LOL. I’m glad you’re enjoying this book, Stacy.

    Comment by Melody | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • It doesn’t feel heavy yet, but once we get to the war part it probably will.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Well kudos to you to have started this book! I keep on thinking about it…but then I also think about other less intimidating classics i need to read and think.. maybe nxt time :D

    Comment by veens | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • There are definitely less intimidating classics!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. I just came from Molly’s–sounds like the book isn’t too bad. I’m seeing what you guys say about it all before I give it a try.

    Comment by Kaye | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • So far so good :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m so impressed that you’re tackling this. Just the thought of it intimidates me.

    Comment by bermudaonion | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m glad the voters chose it! I wouldn’t have tackled it otherise.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. You make me want to reread this! But confusing, yes! I remember even with the movie it was difficult to keep all the characters straight!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh noo! Are you saying it’s not going to get easier?!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. I like Andrei too – though by the description in the beginning he sounds like a real tool. But I guess I like that he expresses his emotions, not afraid to admit that he isn’t in love with his wife, may have made a mistake – but has no idea why he doesn’t feel the way he thinks he is supposed to. I don’t think he’s happy about the way he feels – he just doesn’t know what to do to change it. So off to war he goes, to impress his father.

    Now, his sister Maria on the other hand? I think she’s got mental issues. I can’t figure her out yet.

    I like Tolstoy’s descriptions of Natasha and her actions – he paints the picture of lovesick teen angst so well through her!

    Thanks for the summary of your experience – it is not boring at all is it? And all those notes are pretty informative to the story itself – kind of like those pop-up videos ;0)

    Comment by Bumbles | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • At first I though Andrei was a tool and I’m guessing he’ll turn out to be one. But sometimes tools, especially smart, snarky ones interest me. Like Dr. House on TV – a total tool and I totally love him!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. Fabulous – it is like Coles Notes – only better.

    Comment by Kerri | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Maybe we should publish our own study guide :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. Awesome! I love the synopsis. It gives me hope to read it one day too!

    Comment by Heather | February 18, 2010 | Reply

  9. Is this in movie form? hehehe

    Comment by pinkflipflops | February 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. I admire that you’re reading this huge tome!! Now I can read it vicariously through you!! Thanks!! I look forward to your Thursday posts!! :D

    Comment by Staci-Life in the Thumb | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Reading it through us is definitely the easier way to go ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  11. Your opinions of each of the characters will change each and every chapter. A lot happens throughout the book, as you can imagine in 1215 pages, that will show the growth and evolution of each of them. Keep your eye on Natasha and Andrei and Pierre. You are in for one heck of a ride!

    Comment by Michelle | February 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Natasha seems like a firecracker. I’m looking forward to watching them grow.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  12. I so want to read this book but the size always puts me off. I’m going to read it though :)

    Comment by Violet | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • The size is pretty intimidating!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hotel Saint Sulpice-very quiet but books up quickly. My favorite.
    Hotel Des Deux Iles-on the island behind Notre Dame-I like the island a lot-very quiet and a few restaurants.
    Hotel Saint Paul-get a room high up-as the window are not soundproof.

    http://www.roomwithaparisview.com/ my friend’s apartment-I have never stayed here. You may want to look at wanting to rent an apartment-it is much cheaper. Do you ever go onto trip advisor-if you want to ask me any questions do not hesitate. hope this helps.

    Comment by Esme | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you, thank you!!! I’ll be emailing you this week as I start to make firmer plans.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  14. Wow! I look forward to your thoughts.

    Comment by CeeCee | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • For what they’re worth, LOL.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  15. Sounds like you’re really enjoying this one. From your description, I like Prince Andrei. You might eventually tempt me on this one, if all your posts are as positive.

    Comment by Carol | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Only time will tell. We are on the battlefield this week, so we’ll have to see how that goes.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  16. I like your cartoon. I don’t want the twitter version of War and Peace but I’m enjoying yours and Molly’s. I like the way you told me about the characters – the main reason I would read the book. Keep enjoying.

    Comment by Margot | February 19, 2010 | Reply

    • Having certain characters to focus on is really helping me as I read it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  17. That cartoon cracks me up! Good luck with this!

    Comment by Jenners | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  18. I appaluad the both of you for your hardy reading tastes! Good luck!

    Comment by jennygirl | February 23, 2010 | Reply

  19. Love that tweet pic! LOL! I am still finding the courage to read this book. It’s been on my TBR for ages, it’s becoming a classic shelf antique…

    Comment by Alice Teh | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  20. [...] War & Peace [...]

    Pingback by War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy « Stacy's Books | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  21. [...] this year I followed along as Stacy and Molly read War and Peace.  I went so far as to buy the edition shown here.  And then I got [...]

    Pingback by War and Peace Readalong in 2011 « Bookfan | December 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

