Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

A Worthy Legacy, by Tomi Akinyanmi

Cover ImageFinished 9-13-09, rating 4/5, fiction, pub. 2008

Know this: that you needn’t wait for others to try out something new in which you believe.  Be the very first at anything you can, and do not let frustrations or defeats hinder you; only then will you have a sense of accomplishment

On Using Our Initiative

This is the story of a wise old grandfather, his impending death and his final words for his family that have come to be with him in his final hours.  He wants to leave his family with the wisdom of his years and the granddaughter, our narrator, takes them all to heart.

Let me start by saying how personal this felt to me.  The narrator had a special relationship with her grandfather, as I did, and her description of his death left a tear or two in my eyes because my grandfather died in much the same way.  Surrounded by his family who were all there to tell him it was okay.  I had my hands on my grandfather’s pillow when he drew his last breath and it was a defining moment for me at an age when I could fully appreciate the beauty in his passing.  Although he passed on no grand  words on the meaning of life, his life, well lived, was testament enough.  I could write a whole post on this, but I think I ‘ll go back to the review.

There is little story here and at first I was disappointed, but there was such honesty in the wisdom of the grandfather that I quickly became involved.  I could post  wonderful quotes from every chapter in the book, but that would ruin it for you, so I won’t.  He covers all of the things you’d expect like time, happiness, power, character…but my favorite was the one page on fears. 

I thought this was a wonderful and short read at around 100 pages.  I obviously identified with the story and the advice given was heartfelt and thought provoking.  This is not the book if you are looking for a story, but if you are willing to be drawn into the thoughtfulness of words left behind by someone facing death then you should give it a try.  I am positive I will pick it up and read it again in the future.

September 17, 2009 Posted by | 4 Star Books | | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers