Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

BBAW TBR Pile

The assignment is to show our TBR piles.  Regular readers and those that read my interview with Marjorie yesterday will have seen the photo I took in May with 380 books

book problem 09 2

Since May I’ve read 17 and given away 3, BUT I’ve gained these

 tbr may-sept 09

So, here’s the fun part, I have acquired 2 of one of these books and the first one to guess it WINS IT!  Although some of these books are used the winning book is brand new.  I’ll give one clue every hour or so, so come back and guess until someone wins…

12:15 clue – book is written by a woman

1:30 clue – written by a New York Times Bestselling author

Leave a comment with your guess and I’ll let you know when someone gets it right.  Don’t worry the 1:15 clue will be a little more helpful!  But it doesn’t hurt to take a shot right?

GUESSING CLOSED!  ALITAREADS WINS OFF SEASON BY ANNE RIVERS SIDDONS!  Thanks for playing along.

September 16, 2009 Posted by | FREE | , , | 24 Comments

Travel Writing, by Peter Ferry

Cover ImageFinished 9-11-09, rating 3/5, fiction, pub. 2009

See, I think that’s Pete’s problem,” said Carolyn.  “He knew what was going to happen.  You know what I mean?  He could see it happen before it happened, and then it happened.”  (Of course I now know that even if for a moment I could see what was going to happen to Lisa Kim, I had no idea what had already happened to her and would not for a long time.)

Chapter 1

 High school teacher Pete Ferry (you may notice the similarity with the author’s name) sees a woman driving erratically one night and watches in horror as she crashes and dies.  The police say it’s an accident, but Pete is not convinced.  His guilt at not having stopped her fuels his obsession with finding out everything about that night and the victim, Lisa Kim. Pete’s distraction takes it toll on his relationship with his girlfriend of many years and he can’t seem to work up enough energy to save it.

Of course, this may all be a lie, a story.  Pete is telling this story to his students so they see how a great story is pieced together, with truth and lies.  What is real and what isn’t?  Or is it all a dream?

This clever concept was interesting, and it mostly worked.  I guess I had more of an issue with Pete.  I didn’t ever quite warm up to him or understand his motivations.  And if I was to take his character at face value I guess I didn’t really like him much. 

I thought it was original and I liked the alternating storylines and flashbacks.  It’s a solid debut that will keep you guessing to the end.  I liked it enough to try this author again.

I received this book from the pubisher.

September 16, 2009 Posted by | 3 Star Books | , , | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers