Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason, by Nancy Pearl

Cover ImageFinished 9-3-09, rating 3.5/5, non-fiction/reference, pub. 2003

Whenever I begin reading a new book, I am embarking on a new, uncharted journey with an unmarked destination.  I never know where a particular book will take me, toward what other books I will be led.

from the Introduction

I love lists and I love books, so this book with it’s very cool title made me check it out of the library.  Librarian and author, Nancy Pearl, has compiled lists of books that range from Southern fiction to bicycling.  Each of the more than 175 categories has a page or so written about it with her experiences and book recommendations.  She has also thrown in authors who she thinks are ‘too good to miss’.

There are many things I liked about this book.  Nancy obviously has a passion for reading and books and knows what she’s talking about.  Too her credit I hadn’t heard of many of these books and a few made it onto my wish list.  As a romance reader I loved her recommendations in the area, they are some of my favorites.The writing style is very friendly and accessible. 

There are a few things that kept me from loving this book.  For me, I was disappointed in how few fiction categories there were.  She spent a lot of time on non-fiction topics and I think it may have been nice to do one book for each fiction and non-fiction.  And writing a book of lists is essentially an impossible task.  There are just too many books out there!  So, one person trying to do it is hit or miss.  It did get me thinking that I could compile my own lists and how much fun it would be to try. 

I think this would be a great book for booksellers or librarians.  And I recommend all others who lust after books to go and check this out of their library.  There is also a sequel, More Book Lust.

September 9, 2009 Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books | , , | 11 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers