Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Quilter’s Apprentice, by Jennifer Chiaverini

Cover ImageFinished 7-25-09, rating 4/5, fiction, pub. 1999

This is the first book in the Elm Creek Quilts series

“Who’s not being fair?  I didn’t mean to suggest that judges make arbitrary choices, just that matters of personal taste strongly influence how we evaluate art.  That being the case, I’d prefer the appreciation of a broad range of people, quilters and nonquilters alike, rather than the stamp of approval from a few select so-called experts.”

Chapter 19

Sarah and Matt move from Penn State town State College to the small college town of Waterford for Matt’s new job.  Sarah is having no luck finding a job and begins to feel some resentment for having left a good job and good friends until she is offered temporary employment by Matt’s new employer.  Sarah is to help Sylvia clear out an old mansion and prepare it for sale. 

As part of her payment, Sylvia is teaching Sarah to quilt and each new block is a story about Sylvia’s life and how the family mansion became run down and abandoned.  The two women become friends and Sarah cannot bear the thought of Sylvia selling the house and moving away.  As Sarah settles into her new job she meets a small group of quilters who befriend her, but dislike Sylvia.

This story was a warm and inviting escape into the world of quilting and friendship.  I was able to identify with Sarah as she lost her sense of self when she was jobless, friendless, and lonely in a new town.  She did have mom issues that I assume will be dealt with in a later book and acted a bit immature at times, but the imperfections were mostly interesting to me.

I loved the sassy Sylvia and her story and look forward to continuing with this series in the future.  This is a great book for quilters, but also for anyone who loves reading about the often complex  friendships between women.  I really liked it.

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | 4 Star Books | , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I’m glad to hear that you liked this Stacy as I will be reading this one with my book club within the next year. It definitely sounds like one that they will all enjoy. Thanks for the review.

    Fun book group read. Hope you like it!

    Comment by Jo-Jo | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh, I think I could relate to Sylvia, too. It’s not always easy to find your place when you move.

    People don’t realize how hard it is until they’ve done it!

    Comment by bermudaonion | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. I have heard of these books, but never read any , thanks for the review will definitely check them out.

    Comment by MOG | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. I really enjoyed this series Stacy…hope you do too!!

    Comment by Staci | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. I enjoyed this book as well and I have a few left in the series to read. I don’t quilt but envy quilters and the beauty and craft of quilting so enjoy these books.

    I know. It made me want to try quilting again!

    Comment by Bonnie | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. Sounds good. I love stories about friendships.

    Comment by CeeCee | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’ve always wanted to read these books. I live only a few towns over from State College and I’m told Waterford is based on the a local town.

    If you are so close you really should read it :) I didn’t realize it was based on a real town.

    Comment by Beth F | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. I like it when you find a new series. You are the one blogger I know who will see a series through to the end and let us know about it. This one interests me as I’ve done a bit of quilting myself.

    I’m not sure following a series through to the end is a good thing! I’m reading too many as it is!

    Comment by Margot | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. Nice review, Stacy. I haven’t read any of her books but I’m adding this title to my TBR list. Thanks!

    Comment by Mary | July 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. I have seen this one around and this looks good to!

    Comment by Bookjourney | July 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

