Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Everything Austen Challenge

everythingausten1I’ve decided to join my fourth reading challenge this year (and, no, I have not finished my first three – yet)  I have never read an Austen novel, which I find embarrassing, so this challenge will help me get busy.  Here are my 6 goals to finish in the next 6 months…

1. Listen to Sense & Sensibility on cd (started today!)

2. Watch a Sense & Sensibilty movie

3. Read Pride & Prejudice

4. Read or listen to Mansfield Park (loved the movie!)

5. Read the Jane Austen Book Club

6. Watch one movie based on her books.  I’ll have to look around to decide which one.

I’m really looking forward to this.  Why not join me if you haven’t already?  Visit Stephanie’s Written Word to sign up.

July 1, 2009 - Posted by | challenges | ,

9 Comments »

  1. I love Jane Austen. Good luck with your challenge.

    Comment by Angie | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks so much for joining! If you haven’t already done so, make sure to sign up on Mr. Linky in this post http://thewrittenword.wordpress.com/2009/06/22/introducing-the-everything-austen-challenge-with-prizes/ to officially be registered for prizes!! Thanks!

    Comment by Stephanie | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. Good luck with this challenge. I just may join you. I’m thinking about it.

    Comment by Margot | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. Good luck and have fun, Stacy!

    Comment by bermudaonion | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. So glad you have joined in! Please make sure to sign up officially with Mr. Linky in this post: http://thewrittenword.wordpress.com/2009/06/22/introducing-the-everything-austen-challenge-with-prizes/ (you’ll see it right above the picture of Gwenyth Paltrow as Emma! Thanks!

    Comment by Stephanie | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. Sorry, I didn’t realize I said that twice! :)

    Comment by Stephanie | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’m glad that you are going to read Pride and Prejudice before you read Mansfield Park. I adore Austen, but I don’t think this is one of her best. A lot of Austen fans have mixed views on this one, so I’ll be interested to see what you think.

    Comment by Hilarie | July 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. Yea! Glad you’re doing this too.
    I didn’t like the movie version of Mansfield Park, but I think it was because of the actress, Billy Piper. Great in Dr. Who, but not in Austen.
    I don’t know Billy Piper. I love the one with Frances O’Connor and Jonny Lee Miller, although since I’ve not read the book I don’t know how closely it follows the book.

    Comment by jennygirl | July 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. I joined the challenge based on your recommendation and the fact that I love the Jane Austen books. I just wanted to tell you that I took the “Which Austen Are You?” quiz from your sidebar and I am also Elinor Dashwood. We are kindred souls.

    Comment by Margot | July 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

