Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday – Booknotes

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdaysis a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following - Grab your current read. Open to a random page. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!). Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 Cover Image

And many of us chose, in the early 70′s, to use pseudonyms to write because we were trying to get away from the focus on the personality and the ego.  And because I was involved with Eastern religion and Buddhism and other things, I was also trying to get away from that ego attachment that we have to a name.  So the use of small letters was a way to sort of say, first, it’s not really me because I’m not just the book that I’ve written.  I’m a holisitc self.  And it also really does work to make people think about a name.  What makes a name important?  Those small letters that are kind of equal.  They don’t have that kind of hierarchical look.  That has an effect on people.

from the interview with bell hooks

Sorry I went so over, but once I started typing I couldn’t stop.  I love this book based on interviews on C-SPAN’s Booknotes. 

What are you reading this week?

 

June 23, 2009 Posted by | teaser tuesday | , | 14 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers