Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday – Wicked Prey

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdaysis a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

Grab your current read

  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

The Republican convention is starting, and the people who run the party down at the street level are here, as delegates and spectators.  So these big lobby guys come in with suitcases full of cash, and pass it out, expense money.  Everybody knows about it, nobody tells.  Can’t tell, cause it’s illegal.

Wicked Prey by John Sandford, chapter 1

Wicked Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #19) by Sandford Sandford: Book Cover

This is the latest Lucas Davenport thriller, number 19.  Oh, and although this teaser is about Republicans, it is an equal opportunity book, also calling out the Democrats.

So, what are you reading this week?

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | teaser tuesday | ,

12 Comments »

  1. I read two of his prey books and both were excellent. Unfortunately I can’t remember which ones. Hope you are enjoying it.
    Here is my teaser

    I love this series! I read them all in order and have loved watching Lucas age.

    Comment by jennygirl | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great teaser! I have not read any!
    :D

    Here is my tuesday post

    Comment by gautami tripathy | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Are there already 19 books in the series? Wow! I haven’t even started with #1 yet.

    Comment by Literary Feline | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ooh! Heavy stuff. Sounds interesting!

    Here’s my puzzle tease.

    Comment by Book Bird Dog | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. Politicians and expenses, you should read the U.K. papers at the present time.

    Comment by MOG | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m still laughing from Mog’s comment. This set of books is one I’ve always meant to get around to. This one sounds nice and juicy. Please tell me it’s OK to read #19 without reading the other ones first.

    Well, (long sigh), you could read this one first, but this one more than any of the others is built around lots of people and relationships from earlier books. Rules of Prey is the first one. Maybe I’ll talk about it in my review tomorrow!

    Comment by Margot | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  7. Number 19 – getting that far in a series is certainly a recommendation! Nice teaser.

    Comment by fleurfisher | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  8. he, he! (on the extract and the comments)

    Comment by robert | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. This sounds really intriguing! It’s just the sort of book I like, so I may check it out. Excellent teaser!

    Mine, meanwhile, is Bookishgal.

    Comment by kashicat | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  10. I’m like #87 for this one!! Great teaser!!

    Comment by Staci | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  11. Nice teaser. I haven’t read any of Sandford’s books yet, but they sound exactly like something I’d love!

    Comment by JLS Hall | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  12. Ah phooey – I was hoping just the Repubs were getting raked across the coals.

    :) Actually, it’s not very political at all except for a paragraph about the Sarah Palin pick that I loved.

    Comment by Molly | May 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

