Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday – The Hiding Place

teasertuesdays31  Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! ;)

It never occurred to any of us children that we ourselves were poor; “the poor” were people you took baskets to.  Mama was always cooking up nourishing broths and porridges for forgotten old men and pale young mothers – on days, that is, when she herself was strong enough to stand at the stove.

from the Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom, chapter 2

Cover Image

Just finished this a few hours ago and am still thinking about it.  Many of you may know that this is Corrie’s story of her family’s plight when the Nazi’s occupied Holland.  She and her family ran the underground operation of finding places to hide Jews, including their own home. 

What are you reading this week?

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | teaser tuesday

22 Comments »

  1. great teaser, I’m going to check this one out.

    Comment by Teddyree | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. This sounds very interesting! Might check it out as well. Here’s my teaser, http://www.bookbirddog.blogspot.com

    Comment by Harvee | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I do like that. I’m going to have to find out more.

    Comment by fleurfisher | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. I am so going to find a copy of this book. The quote was great and I enjoy history so this would be a good book for me to read. Thanks for the teaser.

    Comment by Caspette | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. It’s funny how kids see things, isn’t it? Good choice.

    My teaser is here.

    Comment by Lisa | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. Read this book years ago and then had the privilege of meeting Corrie Ten Boom! What a wonderful lady.

    I’m jealous! The book was really powerful and inspiring. It would have been an honor to meet her and hear her speak.

    Comment by Nise' | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  7. I haven’t read this book in years. Thanks for the reminder. It would definitely be a great re-read. I think there may have been a movie of this as well.

    I picked this copy up and the middle section has photos from the movie. My copy cost $1.75 originally, who knows how much I paid for it or where I got it :)

    Comment by Margot | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  8. Sounds fascinating. And great teaser.

    Comment by Beth F | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  9. This is such a beautiful book. I hope you enjoyed it! Nice teaser.

    Comment by Hilarie | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  10. This is a meaningful read. I have to get a copy of her book. I’ve heard so much about her.

    Comment by Alice Teh | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  11. Wow, I haven’t thought of Corrie ten Boom in years. We used to hear a lot about her in my old fundamentalist days, at Bible School. She and her family certainly survived a lot. Thanks for the reminder!

    My own teaser is here.

    Comment by Phyl | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  12. Nice one. I like books about the underground system that protected some of the Jews and other persecuted. I always have. I’ve added this one to my “Wish List”.

    Comment by nfmgirl | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  13. This book sounds really good. It is funny how children perceive life, usually better than adults.

    Comment by CeeCee | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  14. Wow – this book sounds amazing – thanks for the great teaser Stacy!!

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

    Comment by Wendi B | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  15. Sounds intriguing. Good teaser. Thanks for visiting my blog, I don’t think it matters which Jean Plaidy book is read first. I started with the Royal Road to Fotheringay , many years ago as I was interested in Mary , Queen of Scots. Each book is self contained so it’s just a matter of personal choice. This site, http://royal-intrigue.net/ has loads of info. about her books and there is a reading group. Do check it out.Happy reading.

    Comment by MOG | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  16. my kids have brought this book home from school for assignment–I’ve always intended to read it. I’m off to try your Jane Austen quiz. Thanks for stopping by today

    Comment by kaye | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  17. Wonderful! Amazing how this story holds up over time. :)

    Comment by Scobberlotcher | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  18. Excellent teaser. I haven’t read this one but it sounds great!!

    Comment by Staci | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  19. Thanks for introducing me to another book. I do love this meme! That particular teaser sounded so familiar to me but I know that I haven’t read it before – must be another book addressing poverty in the same way.

    Comment by Molly | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  20. This sounds like a wonderful, emotionally powerful book. Maybe a little too much for me, but those are great teasers.

    Comment by JLS Hall | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  21. I picked this up at one point but never got around to reading it before it was due back. Really need to try it again! I’m reading Guts by Gary Paulson right now.

    Comment by Ladytink_534 | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  22. I hadn’t heard of this until today and there are two people with teasers about it! I’ll have to check it out.

    Here’s mine: http://storytimewithtonya.blogspot.com/2009/04/where-are-you-and-teaser-42909.html

    Comment by Tonya | April 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

