Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Cry Me a Quiz

You guys rock!  Thanks for playing :)

I avoid books that I think will make me cry, but occasionally one will sneak up on me :)  These are all books that have caused me to shed a tear or two. See full size image

Here’s how to play…Identify the book and leave a comment with the # and the title and I’ll cross it off the list. No Googling, that’s cheating and no fun!

1.  My sister is sick, really sick, and my mom expects me to do whatever necessary to make her well.  But no one has ever asked me what I want.    My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, Kathy

2. I didn’t know that a boy and a girl could be best friends and I didn’t know nine year olds could die.  Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Patterson, Megan

3. Even though I’m gone, those I left behind are still struggling to come to terms with my murder.  The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, Heather

4. Harry would never be the same after watching me die and neither would my faithful friends reading back home.  Harry Potter & the Halkf-Blood Prince by JK Rowling, Barbara

5. Every animal should be so lucky to live on a farms with friends.  Especially one who can weave a message.  Charlotte’s Web by EB White, Heather

6. Many lovers in the doghouse have tried my famous line, “Love means never having to say your sorry.”  I wonder if anyone would have paid attention if I hadn’t died.  Love Story by Erich Segal, Margot

7.My Dad slaughter pigs to support me and my family.  I had to grow up way too soon on that Vermont farm way back when.  A Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert Newton Peck, Mark

8. For a little while it looked like I had died and my human parents were distraught, but they should have known that a dog intelligent enough to be named Einstein would find a way to live.  Watchers by Dean Koontz, Debbie

9. Dobby’s death snuck up on me and I was surprised at how much his sacrifice would mean to me.  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling, Barbara

10. None of us wants to face our own mortality, but this college professor did it with dignity and a desire to leave his mark.  The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch, Thoughts of Joy

Is there a book that has made you cry?

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | Quizzes | , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Two total guesses:

    #2 – The Lovely Bones (Sebold)

    #10 – The Last Lecture (Pausch)

    Lovely Bones is here, but not at #2

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I think #1 is My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.

    That took more than one Kleenex!

    Comment by bermudaonion | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. 1 is My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, 3 is The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, 4 is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, 5 is Charlotte’s Web… and that’s all I know. :)

    Very nice. But, I didn’t shed a tear in the Goblet of Fire. My description should have metioned that he was wise and kind and a mentor of sorts.

    Comment by Heather | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. I can cry very easily with books or movies. Teary books have been ‘Myself, my enemy’ by Jean Plaidy, that’s a novel on the life of Henrietta Maria the wife of Charles 1 and ‘A friend like Henry’ by Nuala Gardner, the true story of an autistic boy.

    I’m pretty sure that second one would be inspiring and inspire many tears!

    Comment by MOG | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. OOPS! I wrote the wrong number. :( Well – at least I know my guesses were right. :)

    You are on the list for #10 at least :)

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m always crying over books! The only one I might know:

    No. 2: Bridge To Terabithia by Katherine Patterson

    Books that have made me cry? Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Namesake; Pam Houston’s Sight Hound; J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows! There are more, too, but I’ll get teary-eyed trying to remember them all :)

    I haven’t read Bridge to Terabithia in years, but I remember it broke my heart the first time.

    Comment by Megan | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  7. The Art of Racing in the Rain, Sarah’s Key and Firefly Lane got me choked up. Sarah’s Key was a 2 kleenex box book. Good, though. Thanks for visiting my MM today. It’s so nice to have such wonderful visitors.

    I’ve heard good things about Sarah’s Key, but knowing that it will take more than one Puffs is not going to encourage me to read it ;)

    Comment by Kaye | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  8. 9.Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows

    And is #4 Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince?

    You know your Harry Potter!

    Comment by barbaravb | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. I love books that make me cry but then I’m the crier they make Hallmark commercials for. I think #6 is Love Story.

    I get sappy at commercials too. I know I’m being silly, but I can’t help myself!

    Comment by Margot | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  10. I think #7 is “A Day No Pigs Would Die” a complete shot in the dark since I never read the book but remember seeing it in the carousel at my hometown library and thinking it was an odd title (but not odd enough for me to actually check out and read).

    I can’t recall any books that made me cry, but I will nark out my wife who literally cried through the last 50 or so pages of The Notebook.

    That is quite a guess! You really should read it. You might shed a tear or two. Maura’s tears are the reason why I have avoided Nicholas Sparks so far!

    Comment by The old roomate | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  11. Recently, the Passion of Mary-Margaret by Lisa Samson.

    Comment by CeeCee | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  12. Is #8 Watchers by Dean Koontz? I remember an amazing golden retriever in that book that I adored and I think that was his name. Sometimes books make me cry. The most recent was The Art of Racing In The Rain. Hallmark commercials get me every time too!

    Comment by Wrighty | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’m a day late and a dollar short for this one!! and the only one left…I have no clue!!! Fun game though!!

    Comment by Staci | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  14. [...] Cry Me a Quiz [...]

    Pingback by 2009 Quizzes « Stacy's Books | December 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

