Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Inn at Eagle Point, Sherryl Woods

The Inn at Eagle Point (Chesapeake Shores Series) by Woods Woods: Book CoverFinished 4-20-09, rating 4/5, romance, pub. 2009

“Come on, Trace, be reasonable,” Abby pleaded.  “I need to get back to New York.  I have a job.  Jess knows what has to be done.  I trust her.”

“You’re her sister.  I’m her banker,” he said.  “Unless you agree to my terms, we’ll proceed with the foreclosure.”

He looked from Abby to Jess, then back again.  “Well, what’s it going to be?  Will I see you tomorrow?”

Chapter 4

Book 1 in the Chesapeake Shores Trilogy

Abby O’Brien is a successful portfolio manager on Wall Street and the oldest of 5 siblings.  When their mother left them it was up to Abby to take care of the family.  The Dad, Mick, lost himself in travel for work and Gram moved in to help care for the kids.  Now Abby must return home to Chesapeake Shores to help her baby sister, Jess.  She has her twin daughters in tow and a torch for her lost love, Trace Riley.  Trace is back in Chesapeake Shores due to a summons by his father, but finds he wants to stay when Abby shows up.  He just has to find a way to keep her there.  Abby and Trace are wonderful characters full of strength and love.

Although this is the central story, there is so much more going on.  The O’Brien’s are a dysfunctional, but loving family and the town of Chesapeake Shores sounds like a great place to live or, at least, visit for a few weeks.  We get to know the feisty Jess and melancholy Mick as well as the mother who left them all those years ago. 

This was Abby and Trace’s story, but I am looking forward to the next installment about the O’Brien clan, Flowers on Main.  I took this to Mexico and it was the perfect beach read.  Now if I could only get back to the beach when the next one comes out next month…

Come back tomorrow for my interview with the author, Sherryl Woods.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | 4 Star Books | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. This sounds like a winner!

    Comment by bermudaonion | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love good beach reads even if I’m in the mountains. The plot sounds good and, I hope, the characters are well-developed. I also like that she is carrying over the other characters in a sequel. I look forward to the interview.

    Comment by Margot | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. It sounds like a good ‘cruise’ read too. I am getting my reading material together now. How many books do you think I will need for 11 days?? I hear that Sherryl Woods has a spectacular neighbor. Can’t wait to read the interview.

    Had I realized I would have sent more books with Dad! You better take 7. And, yes, Sherryl has a wonderful neighbor :)

    Comment by jb | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Stacy: I gave you an award at http://www.bookbirddog.blogspot.com

    Thanks for being such a good reader! Congrats!

    Comment by Harvee | April 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

