Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Skipping Christmas, by John Grisham

Cover ImageFinished 4-8-09, rating 2.5/5, fiction. pub. 2001

“What’s the catch?”

“The catch is simple.  We don’t do Christmas.  We save the money, spend it on ourselves for once.  Not a dime on food we won’t eat or clothes we won’t wear or gifts no one needs.  Not one red cent.  It’s a boycott, Nora, a complete boycott of Christmas.”

“Sounds awful.”

Chapter 2

Well, in my opinion this slim novel was pretty awful.  I loved the premise and even enjoyed some of the uncomfortable situations Luther and Nora found themselves in, but I really did not care for how the story wrapped up.  I guess I’m not sure I get the point.

Luther added up all the money they had spent on Christmas the year before and decided that since their only child, Blair, would be gone for the holidays that they could put all that money to better use.  They booked themselves a cruise, spent hours in the tanning bed, and looked through books and pamphlets in anticipation of their trip. 

The locals (neighbors, police, firemen, boy scouts, co-workers) were all appalled at this slight of Christmas.  None of these locals resembled real people and in the end did not redeem themselved in my eyes, although Grisham tries his best.

The idea could have been heartwarming or slapstick silly.  It didn’t really accomplish either.

I read this for a challenge and blame it for the 3 inches of snow we received while I read it ;)

 

April 11, 2009 Posted by | 2 1/2 Stars or Less | 6 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers