Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday- Shantaram, again

teasertuesdays2

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! ;)
  •  

    I sat alone, on a boulder that was larger a flatter than most, and I smoked a cigarette.  I smoked in those days because, like everyone else in the world who smokes, I wanted to die at least as much as I wanted to live.

    Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts, Chapter 18

    Cover ImageThis is listed as being in pre-production, with Johnny Depp cast as the lead.  The man described in the above teaser.

    So, whatcha readin’?

    March 31, 2009 - Posted by | teaser tuesday | , ,

    21 Comments »

    1. What a sad teaser. I can not imagine being so full of hopelessness that I didn’t care whether I lived or died. Sounds like an emotional book.
      *happy Tuesday*
      Kim

      Emotional in a good way.

      Comment by Kim | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    2. Now that is striking – and I like the cover too!

      The cover is great :)

      Comment by fleurfisher | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    3. Johnny Depp – mmmmmm.

      Strange reason for smoking.

      I’ve never smoked, but I can’t believe that it’s true for everyone.

      Comment by sally906 | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    4. I bought it three years back. Yet to read it. The size scares me off!

      Poetic Teaser

      It’s my husband’s favorite book and he bought it for me last October. I just started it a few weeks ago :)

      Comment by gautami tripathy | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    5. I do love the cover but . . . Is the book depressing? Are you enjoying it?

      Here is my teaser

      It is eye opening, but not necessarily depressing. I am loving it.

      Comment by Kaye | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    6. Sounds brooding.

      My teaser is up.

      I think the book can sometimes sound brooding, but in a fleeting way.

      Comment by bookfan | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    7. Great teaser! Sounds like a perfect role for Johnny Depp too. He does brooding well.

      I think Johnny Depp can do anything and I think it will be a challenge. He’s an Australian in India. And it is based on a real person!

      Comment by Lisa | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    8. That’s an interesting choice. I’ve always sort of suspected that about smokers.

      My teaser is here.

      :)

      Comment by Lisa | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    9. Very good teaser. I can see Johnny Depp saying those words.

      In my mind I can see Johnny Depp saying most anything ;)

      Comment by Margot | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    10. That was a good one. I saw your contest too, I’m a huge fan of Maria Doria Russell. The Sparrow is definitely on my all time favorites list.

      http://www.therubycanary.wordpress.com

      I’m excited to draw a winner at noon :)

      Comment by therubycanary | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    11. Great teaser. Thanks.

      Comment by Beth F | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    12. Good teaser…what is going on in this book! Can’t wait for your review.

      I’ve finally reached the halfway point :)

      Comment by Jennygirl | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    13. What a thought provoking teaser. I love Johnny Depp – don’t always like his roles, but he generally does a very good job. This almost sounds like a memoir.

      Here’s my Teaser from The Ten Year Nap! ~ Wendi

      It is a fiction/memoir and it was written in prison. Stay tuned for the review (although I’m only halfway through).
      And I totally agree with you about Johnny Depp!

      Comment by Wendi B | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    14. What a fascinating thought regarding smoking. I hope it doesn’t apply to my son, who picked up the habit two years ago in high school! ;)

      I think teenagers like to thumb their noses at authority. Maybe he’s rebelling against death ;)

      Comment by Bellezza | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    15. That teaser has been wondering…and then I saw your note about Johnny Depp!! OOOH!! can’t wait for this!

      I am sure that Johnny will do it justice :)

      Comment by Staci | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    16. Johnny Depp? Now that book must be fun.

      It is fascinating.

      Comment by harvee | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    17. HI!
      That does sound intriguing! Great teaser. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great day!!

      Sherrie

      Comment by Sherrie | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    18. Yes, it does sound like a great role for Johnny Depp. But then, what isn’t? He’s pretty versatile. And those are great teasers.

      I could pretty much watch Johnny Depp in anything, but this book is good and I’m looking forward to seeing in on film.

      Comment by JLS Hall | March 31, 2009 | Reply

    19. I am really looking forward to reading this book. Great teaser.

      Carve out a lot of time!

      Comment by Literary Feline | April 1, 2009 | Reply

    20. This book sounds interesting. I have seen a couple teasers on the Tuesday Teaser blog posts and it looks promising.

      Comment by Caspette | April 2, 2009 | Reply

    21. After reading this book I think that Johnny Depp would be perfect in this role. I think I would like to read this again someday, as the writing was just so beautiful, page after page. I can’t say that about many books. Great teaser!

      Comment by Jo-Jo | April 7, 2009 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 244 other followers

